Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Library Trustees

2010 Library Hall of Fame Selections

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, September 21, 2010
in Hall of Fame

The Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation, has selected five individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2010.  They are Wayne Bassett (1915-1988), H. Vail Deale (1915-2004), Leah Gruber (1907-1996), Julia Wright Merrill (1881-1961), and Calvin Potter (1945- ).  The inductions will take place on November 4, 2010 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells.  Wayne Bassett served as Director of the Wausau Public Library, later merged into the Marathon County Public Library, and the Wisconsin Valley Library Service.  He served as the Legislative Advocate for WLA and as its President in 1976. H. Vail Deale was the former Director of Libraries at Beloit College.  He was a member of the 1954-55 Steering Committee that helped establish the Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries (WAAL) in WLA and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  Deale served as President of the WLA in 1960-61.  Leah Gruber served as a trustee on the Prairie du Sac Library Board for 48 years. She also served on the boards of the Sauk County Library and the South Central Library System.  Leah served as President of the Wisconsin Library Trustee Association in 1973 and 1974.  She was honored as WLA’s trustee of the year in 1968 and was again selected for this honor in 1976.  Julia Wright Merrill worked for the Wisconsin Free Library Commission on two occasions, from 1903 to 1906 and again from 1917 to 1922. She taught in the WFLC’s library school and served as a field agent promoting public library service throughout the state. She was a national leader in public library extension and served as the first Executive Secretary of the Public Library Association of the American Library Association.  Calvin (Cal) Potter’s was a consistent and effective legislative supporter for Wisconsin libraries of all types during his 23 year career as a member of the State legislature and during his four and a half years service as Assistant State Superintendent, Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning.  For his advocacy for libraries, Potter received WLA’s Citation of Merit in 1981 and again in 1985.  More extensive coverage of the accomplishments of these five individuals will be forthcoming in later posts to the WLHC website.



Popular Tags

Inform Wisconsin John J. Jax World War I Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Appleton Public Library hall of Delia Ovitz buil Wisconsin Library Association campa Library Trustees WLA 125 Lutie Stearns campaign Anniversaries Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Rapids Woman's Congress Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Rusk County Community Library Public libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign Library Buidlings 23 Wisconsin Historical Society WWI Library War Service Milwaukee Art Museum Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 library legislation Brown Deer Public Library Amer Zona Gale UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Ice Storm Beaver Dam Public Library Peter G. Hamon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav Increase A. Lapham Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Duane Doty bookworm background Eratus Swift Wilcox Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2010 Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand Clinton Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Carl Spitzweg Library celebrations Milwaukee Public Library Library People Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2008 Library e McMillan Memorial Library Ruby Roeder Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Bernard Schwab Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center books-by-mail anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 John Miller Chancellor Suring Area Public Library School libraries archives Sarah Janice Kee Brown County Library campaign COLAND Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 People Public library systems Marketing-Publicity Library people Postcards Dorothea M. Krause 11 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce WLA 125 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Buttons caly film S. Janice Kee Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2014 Centennial I Love Libraries Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2016 22 Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Beloit Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Library people James Huff Stout Parcel post T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians library education 10 Exhibits Eager Free Public Library WAAL Bookmobiles School of Library and Information Studies Hall Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Superior Carnegie Libraries bed and breakfast Dianne McAfee Hopkins 21 Middleton Public Library 28 Pinback buttons caly film Hall of Fame 2012 Klaus Linderfelt Postcards Capitol Fire 1904 Milwaukee Public Library Historical Register Wisconsin Free Library Commission William J. Wilson Cooperative Children's Book Center American Library Association Ripon Public Library Carnegie libraries Portage Public Library caly film Pewaukee Public Library Soughton Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services 24 membership libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Postcards Larry T. Nix Meter mail slogans Anniversaries Publications presentations CCBC Events 14 Events & Meetings WHCLIS Clarence Brown Lester Katharine MacDonald Jones Evansville Wisconsin 20 Matthew S. Dudgeon Sandra Friedman Dolnick Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Elroy Public Library Academic Librarians Nolan I. Neds Black River Falls Ruth Ann Montgomery J. D. Witter traveling libraries Special libraries library memorabilia Madison Public Library state historical society Irene W. Newman Council on Library and Network Development State Law Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Cam Hall of Fame 2015 Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2011 Brown Deer Public Library Oshkosh Public Library library exhibit Digital Collections 27 Public libraries American Library Association Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library History Jerome P. Daniels National Bookmobile Day Louise S. Robbins Edward Asahel Birge ca campaign cam Gertrude Thurow Gilbert H. Doane Academic Libraries WLA 125 Frank Avery Hutchins Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2015 National Library Week Lutie Eugenia Stearns DeForest Area Public Library Campaign Library Systems Jane K. Billings Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo