Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Library Systems

Library System Anniversaries 2009

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
in Public libraries

Significant anniversaries are opportunities for libraries and library organizations to acknowledge their heritage and at the same time put the spotlight on their library or organization. I generally encourage the idea of celebrating anniversaries as often as every five years and definitely every ten years. This year a number of Wisconsin public library systems have significant anniversaries.  The Southwest Wisconsin Library System is celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Library Services Act multi-county library cooperation project that evolved into the Southwest Wisconsin Library System. The April 7, 2009 SWLS blog entry reviews some of the history leading up to the formal formation of the system in 1974. Thus the system is also celebrating the 35th anniversary of the creation of the system. SWLS will have a celebration and awards dinner on June 19 to celebrate. The Eastern Shores Library System was formally created in 1979 and will celebrate its 30th anniversary this year. This will also be the 30th anniversary for the ESLS bookmobile and the 25th anniversary of the ESLS delivery service.  A variety of events to celebrate these anniversaries are described in the May issue of "The Connection", the ESLS newsletter. Other library systems are having significant anniversaries but I am as yet unaware of any events acknowledging these anniversaries. A Library Services Act multi-county cooperative project was also initiated in 1959 in Northwest Wisconsin which eventually led to the creation of what is now the Northern Waters Library System in 1973. Library systems created in 1974 and celebrating their 35th anniversaries also include the Arrowhead Library System, the Manitowoc-Calumet Library System, and the Mid-Wisconsin Library System. The Lakeshores Library System was  created in 1979 and is celebrating its 30th anniversary.  The November-December 2001 issue of Channel contained extensive coverage of the history of Wisconsin's public library systems to highlight the 30th anniversary of the passage of the public library system law in December 1971. Congratulations to all of these library systems on these significant anniversaries.

Recent comment in this post Show all comments
  • Jean Célibataire Endurci says #
    You did not mention in your post if celebrating anniversaries every 5 or 10 years will bring in more readers, how many and for how...


Popular Tags

Black River Falls Public Library Events & Meetings Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Madison Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2008 Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Association WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 21 Events Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library people Postcards Hall fo Fame 2012 Elroy Public Library Beloit Public Library National Bookmobile Day 27 Dorothea M. Krause Exhibits Jane K. Billings Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Art Museum Library People WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2009 Clinton Public Library Public library systems Library Systems J. D. Witter Jerome P. Daniels Eratus Swift Wilcox American Library Association Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 WWI Library War Service Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 traveling libraries Woman's Congress Amer WLA 125 Klaus Linderfelt WHCLIS Wisconsin Rapids Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends CCBC Sarah Janice Kee Middleton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries buil Hartford Public Library Zona Gale 10 Black River Falls Library people Matthew S. Dudgeon Special libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Ripon Public Library background Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2016 Inform Wisconsin Historical Register membership libraries Anniversaries Pinback buttons Centennial World War I Buttons Hall of Fame 2011 Postcards S. Janice Kee Rusk County Community Library Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library caly film John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2017 caly film Hall of Fame 2014 Gertrude Thurow Orrilla Blackshear William J. Wilson Dianne McAfee Hopkins Carl Spitzweg Beaver Dam Public Library bookworm Suring Area Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 14 National Library Week 23 Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin State Law Library ca Charles Bunge Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Appleton Public Library anniversaries Nolan I. Neds Brown Deer Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Edward Asahel Birge James Huff Stout 11 cam Postcards Academic Librarians 24 Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2015 Library Buildings Irene W. Newman campa Digital Collections Sandra Friedman Dolnick Library Buidlings Louise S. Robbins 22 library exhibit Hall School of Library and Information Studies Gilbert H. Doane books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Bulletin Campaign Soughton Public Library Portage Public Library Campaign Milwaukee Public Library campaign State Law Library Capitol Fire 1904 Cooperative Children's Book Center Richard E. Krug Larry T. Nix Meter mail slogans John J. Jax archives Hall of Fame 2013 Publications Pewaukee Public Library library education Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Cam 20 Delia Ovitz Ruby Roeder Wisconsin Free Library Commission Academic Libraries 28 Parcel post Bernard Schwab Events & Meetings School libraries Lowell W. Wilson T. B. Scott Free Public Library bed and breakfast Wayne A. Wiegand Ruth Ann Montgomery Library Artifacts Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Stearns COLAND Marketing-Publicity UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies library memorabilia Manitowoc Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Carnegie libraries Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Frank Avery Hutchins Public libraries Public libraries WLA 125 campaign American Library Association Library War Service Library History Hall of Fame 2012 Superior Carnegie Libraries hall of Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library Library e Uncategorized James Duane Doty Library celebrations Peter G. Hamon presentations UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL trav People Clarence Brown Lester Increase A. Lapham Brown County Library Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services caly film state historical society library legislation

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo