Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged library education

Education for Librarianship in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, July 29, 2016
in WLA 125
Education for librarianship in Wisconsin dates back to 1895 when the newly created Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) sponsored the first Summer School of Library Economy.  The summer school was the idea of Frank Hutchins, the Commission's first Secretary.  The school was personally financed by library legislative champion Senator James H. Stout and was directed by Katharine Sharp, director of the Library School of the Armour Institute in Chicago. A full time Wisconsin Library School, still under the auspices of the WFLC, was founded in 1906 and housed on the second floor of the Madison Public Library. Mary Emogene Hazeltine was its first Perceptor or Principal. She served in this capacity until 1938. In 1938 administrative control of the library school was moved from the WFLC to the University of Wisconsin. It is now the School of Library and Information Studies at UW-Madison and it is fully accredited by the American Library Association.  More on its history can be found HERE. A second library school was established at UW-Milwaukee in 1976. It is now the School of Information Studies and is accredited by the American Library Association. It is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. 
The postcard above shows the second floor atrium of the Madison Public Library when it was located in the building financed by Andrew Carnegie, now razed.  It was here that the Wisconsin Library School was located from 1906 to 1938.  Carnegie gave additional funding to enable the library school to be located in the public library building. The message on the back of the postcard which was mailed in 1925 is from library school faculty member Winifred Davis to Mrs. N. A. Cushman, Librarian of the Reedsburg Public Library.  Davis invites Cushman to visit a library school exhibit at the University Exposition.
Recent comment in this post Show all comments
  • Kathleen Mance says #
    My Grandmother received a certificate from the Library School on June 20, 1932.


Popular Tags

campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Buttons Bernard Schwab Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies School libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon James Huff Stout Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2016 T. B. Scott Free Public Library 28 Library History Nolan I. Neds Bookmobiles hall of Gilbert H. Doane Ripon Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign books-by-mail Brown Deer Public Library Amer 20 Library Systems National Bookmobile Day Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Parcel post Wisconsin Free Library Commission presentations 22 Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2008 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Appleton Public Library library legislation Suring Area Public Library WLA 125 Gertrude Thurow Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Cam John J. Jax Hall Jane K. Billings 24 Library people Postcards DeForest Area Public Library WHCLIS Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Delia Ovitz Dorothea M. Krause Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Dianne McAfee Hopkins archives Library Artifacts Campaign Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Pinback buttons Wisconsin Historical Society Lutie Stearns library exhibit Events & Meetings Larry T. Nix American Library Association Library War Service Black River Falls Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 School of Library and Information Studies Zona Gale Wisconsin Rapids WAAL Campaign trav Madison Public Library Library celebrations WLA 125 14 WLA 125 Historical Register Exhibits Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Marketing-Publicity campa WLA 125 I Love Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Library people Rusk County Community Library Meter mail slogans caly film Public library systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 buil Library e campaign anniversaries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Anniversaries ca Woman's Congress background Tower Hill Wisconsin WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Lowell W. Wilson Clinton Public Library traveling libraries CCBC J. D. Witter COLAND Hall of Fame 2010 Publications Cooperative Children's Book Center Eager Free Public Library 23 Black River Falls Increase A. Lapham Pewaukee Public Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Orrilla Blackshear 11 Digital Collections Richard E. Krug Hartford Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Wisconsin State Law Library Frank Avery Hutchins Public libraries campaign State Law Library Hall of Fame 2009 Superior Carnegie Libraries Portage Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2017 Oshkosh Public Library Centennial Elroy Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Irene W. Newman Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2013 Library People library memorabilia Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Edward Asahel Birge Gerald A. Somers Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Sandra Friedman Dolnick Milwaukee Public Library bookworm bed and breakfast Soughton Public Library caly film Louise S. Robbins John Miller Chancellor Cornelia Marving Pierce Wayne A. Wiegand Manitowoc Public Library Library Buidlings Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees Evansville Wisconsin American Library Association 10 Special libraries Postcards membership libraries People Beloit Public Library Carl Spitzweg Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries cam 27 library education Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Library Association Academic Librarians Uncategorized Charles Bunge Sarah Janice Kee Middleton Public Library Library Buildings Carnegie libraries Capitol Fire 1904 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2014 Milwaukee Art Museum Ice Storm Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown County Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries World War I McMillan Memorial Library Clarence Brown Lester Events & Meetings Events Hall of Fame 2015 21 National Library Week Wisconsin Library Bulletin state historical society William J. Wilson James Duane Doty Anniversaries S. Janice Kee caly film

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo