Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Katharine MacDonald Jones

Katharine MacDonald Jones (1866-?)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
in Hall of Fame

Katharine MacDonald Jones was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Jones was a national authority on the selection of materials for small public libraries. She joined the staff of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1899, and served as Assistant Secretary of the Commission from 1901 to 1907. She became head of the Traveling Libraries Department of the WFLC when it was established in 1903. From 1906 until 1908 she was editor of the Booklist of the American Library Association. She was identified in 1936 by Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Matthew S. Dudgeon as one of ten individuals on “Wisconsin’s long library Roll of Honor.” Dudgeon said this about Jones: “the talented appraiser of books who for years, with little enough support, carried on here in Wisconsin the splendid beginnings of the American Library Association Booklist.” Jones graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1886. She was author of the publication Magazines for Small Libraries (WI Free Library Commission, 1908).

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


Popular Tags

School libraries Robert Bocher UW-Madison school of library and information studies Events & Meetings Centennial Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Library Association 10 John Miller Chancellor Publications 28 DeForest Area Public Library 11 Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Black River Falls Carnegie libraries People Capitol Fire 1904 Jerome P. Daniels Zona Gale Library people Postcards Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter Academic Librarians Library Buidlings Clinton Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Superior Carnegie Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Dorothea M. Krause Campaign Bookmobiles ca Hall of Fame 2018 Public libraries campa Gertrude Thurow State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Parcel post T. B. Scott Free Public Library anniversaries Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2008 John J. Jax Marketing-Publicity bed and breakfast Digital Collections Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries William J. Wilson Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee library memorabilia CCBC books-by-mail Hartford Public Library campaign Richard E. Krug James Duane Doty McMillan Memorial Library bookworm Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library Buildings Charles Bunge caly film Nolan I. Neds Ice Storm James Huff Stout Helen Adams Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Peter G. Hamon Library e Appleton Public Library World War I Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wayne A. Wiegand Larry T. Nix Anniversaries Richard J. Sorensen Wisconsin State Law Library Library Systems Dianne McAfee Hopkins 27 Hall of Fame 2013 Hall fo Fame 2012 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Postcards Campaign Louise S. Robbins Ruby Roeder Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2011 Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Manitowoc Public Library Anniversaries Campaign School of Library and Information Studies campaign Special libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Delia Ovitz Uncategorized WLA 125 Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 traveling libraries Public library systems cam Wisconsin Rapids Brown Deer Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Klaus Linderfelt Meter mail slogans Irene W. Newman Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Lutie Stearns WLA 125 Milwaukee Public Library buil National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2012 Exhibits Tower Hill Wisconsin Middleton Public Library library legislation Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Orrilla Blackshear presentations Gerald A. Somers Matthew S. Dudgeon I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Beloit Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Beaver Dam Public Library Soughton Public Library Dick Sorensen campaign Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2016 Rusk County Community Library National Library Week Nancy Marshall Carl Spitzweg Lutie Eugenia Stearns 14 Hall of Fame 2012 Library people Hall of Fame 2010 23 trav Frank Avery Hutchins Elroy Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Buttons UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Ruth Ann Montgomery Wisconsin Historical Society library exhibit Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 21 Amer WHCLIS Cam Portage Public Library Bernard Schwab Black River Falls Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Katharine MacDonald Jones Historical Register Library Trustees Gilbert H. Doane Library People Hall of Fame 2019 Pewaukee Public Library WAAL Academic Libraries Ripon Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Brown Deer Public Library Increase A. Lapham Postcards WLA 125 Inform Wisconsin Oshkosh Public Library Edward Asahel Birge state historical society Milwaukee Public Library Library History background Library celebrations library education Events Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Public libraries 24 American Library Association 20 Events & Meetings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Pinback buttons Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2012 Dick Sorensen S. Janice Kee Brown County Library WWI Library War Service COLAND caly film hall of 22 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards archives UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies caly film Clarence Brown Lester Milwaukee Art Museum

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo