Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged John Miller Chancellor

John Miller Chancellor (1896-1980)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, October 20, 2012
in Hall of Fame

John Miller Chancellor had a distinguished career at the national level where he was an authority and proponent on adult eduction in public libraries. He served as the Adult Education Specialist for the American Library Association from 1934-1942. He resigned from ALA and moved to Wisconsin in 1943 where he became a farmer in Mount Horeb. He was appointed to the Wisconsin Free Library Commission at a critical point in the development of public libraries in Wisconsin. He served on the Commission from 1947-1951 and was its Chair in 1949-1951. He was a major contributor to the publication “The Wisconsin-Wide Library Idea for voluntary Education through Reading” (1948).  On the Commission he defended intellectual freedom during the McCarthy era. He was made an Honorary Member of the American Library Association in 1962. Honorary membership in ALA is conferred on individuals whose contribution to librarianship is "so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service".  Earlier positions included: reference assistant at the New York Public Library; readers advisor at the New Haven (CT) Public Library; and supervising librarian at the U. S. Bureau of Prisons. Chancellor was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012. Chancellor was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


Popular Tags

Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Matthew S. Dudgeon World War I I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Louise S. Robbins Ruby Roeder John J. Jax Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL background People membership libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2018 WLA 125 anniversaries J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2016 WWI Library War Service 28 Suring Area Public Library Irene W. Newman WLA 125 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Helen Adams Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Richard E. Krug Jerome P. Daniels Cornelia Marving Pierce Anniversaries Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2018 Public libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Soughton Public Library 11 National Bookmobile Day Campaign Digital Collections Sarah Janice Kee Zona Gale Carnegie libraries Larry T. Nix campaign traveling libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Klaus Linderfelt Robert Bocher ca Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2013 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library Library Buildings Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Wisconsin Historical Society archives Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2017 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Library people Jane K. Billings National Library Week Publications Academic Libraries caly film State Law Library Milwaukee Public Library Postcards Hall WLA 125 Campaign Special libraries 23 Increase A. Lapham Library Systems Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services library legislation cam Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 hall of Bookmobiles Centennial Clarence Brown Lester James Duane Doty caly film Academic Librarians Nolan I. Neds Public libraries Uncategorized Exhibits Peter G. Hamon Library people Postcards Milwaukee Public Library state historical society Hartford Public Library Library History Hall of Fame 2011 Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Free Library Commission Manitowoc Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Sandra Friedman Dolnick Black River Falls Wilbur Lyle Eberhart DeForest Area Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library School libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 bookworm Hall of Fame 2014 Gilbert H. Doane Council on Library and Network Development buil Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Black River Falls Public Library Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs CCBC Beaver Dam Public Library Brown County Library Middleton Public Library Postcards 21 library exhibit Library e campaign Woman's Congress Dorothea M. Krause Clinton Public Library Carl Spitzweg Ripon Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin State Law Library Library Artifacts Eratus Swift Wilcox Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Library Association Lutie Stearns Marketing-Publicity Charles Bunge books-by-mail American Library Association Library War Service Parcel post 24 Cam Gertrude Thurow John Miller Chancellor Library Buidlings Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Orrilla Blackshear William J. Wilson Edward Asahel Birge Historical Register Madison Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies American Library Association trav McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2012 Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Rusk County Community Library Library celebrations Library Trustees Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Dianne McAfee Hopkins Lowell W. Wilson 22 caly film Buttons Frank Avery Hutchins Amer Events & Meetings Cooperative Children's Book Center Meter mail slogans COLAND library education Pewaukee Public Library Inform Wisconsin Events Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign Public library systems Wayne A. Wiegand Gerald A. Somers 27 Appleton Public Library 20 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2012 WHCLIS Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee WLA 125 Bob Bochfer School of Library and Information Studies Library People Beloit Public Library presentations James Huff Stout bed and breakfast Portage Public Library campaign 14 Anniversaries library memorabilia campa S. Janice Kee Ice Storm

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo