Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged John J. Jax

John (Joe) J. Jax, 2017 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 10, 2017
in Hall of Fame
John (Joe) J. Jax was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells on October 19, 2017.  
Joe JaxJohn (Joe) J. Jax made major contributions to academic librarianship in Wisconsin and to the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA).  As Director of the Library Learning Center and Associate Professor at the University of Wisconsin – Stout for 32 years he was a leader on campus, in the academic community, and in WLA. He put the library at UW-Stout at the forefront of new technology, was a strong voice for the UW System, and a major player in the development of library cooperation and resource sharing both within the academic world and across all types of libraries.
During Jax’s tenure as director at the UW-Stout Library the first online catalog in the UW System was installed at the library amid opposition from those who wanted to retain the card catalog.  Jax was the lead planner for a new library building at UW-Stout, and became an ALA Registered, Certified Library Building Consultant. UW- Stout pioneered new technology for users with disabilities.  In addition to writing articles on the topic, Joe served as a reviewer of publications covering Adaptive Technologies for users (“Library Services for Students with Disabilities at the University of Wisconsin-Stout,” Journal of Academic Librarianship, July 1993).  He was well-known for nurturing his staff and supporting their involvement in WLA and other professional associations. The library was designated as WLA Library of the Year in 1983.
Jax served in leadership positions at every level of WLA including President (1982), WAAL Chairperson (1980), WLA Annual Conference Chairperson, and WLA Committee on Organization Chairperson. He served on the WLA Board during one of the most challenging periods – when school librarians split from WLA to form WEMA.  Jax was named WLA Librarian of the Year in 1986.
Other library leadership positions included serving as: Chairperson of the Council of Wisconsin Libraries (COWL); Chairperson of the Council of UW Libraries (CUWL); Wisconsin Delegate to the OCLC Users Council; and Wisconsin delegate to the White House Conference for Libraries in 1979.
Besides his work with libraries, Joe was an eleven year member of the UW-Stout men's basketball coaching staff and was inducted into the UW Stout Athletic Hall of Fame in 2004.  He also served on the Menomonie City Council, including a stint as president.
Jax was born on June 17, 1935 in Cazenovia, WI. He received a B. A. degree from UW-LaCrosse in 1958, and a MS in Library Science at UW-Madison in 1959.  He is a life member of both WLA and ALA. 
This Hall of Fame entry was adapted from content provided by Kathy Schneider Michaelis.


Popular Tags

National Bookmobile Day Cam 27 Anniversaries Bookmobiles 24 Inform Wisconsin American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2011 Academic Libraries Soughton Public Library bookworm Amer bed and breakfast Brown County Library buil Richard E. Krug WLA 125 Increase A. Lapham Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 22 Robert Bocher library education Council on Library and Network Development Sandra Friedman Dolnick Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2019 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Centennial Lutie Stearns campaign Library e Larry T. Nix Library people Wisconsin Library Heritage Center School of Library and Information Studies Nolan I. Neds DeForest Area Public Library S. Janice Kee Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Library celebrations campa White House Conference on Library and Information Services Jerome P. Daniels Appleton Public Library Historical Register Hall of Fame 2018 Library Buidlings Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2016 Milwaukee Art Museum hall of 11 National Library Week WLA 125 WLA 125 Sarah Janice Kee Delia Ovitz T. B. Scott Free Public Library Dick Sorensen Hartford Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery William J. Wilson Library people Postcards Academic Librarians COLAND Lutie Eugenia Stearns Events Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs UW-Madison school of library and information studies Beaver Dam Public Library campaign Library Artifacts Evansville Wisconsin Publications Wayne A. Wiegand Portage Public Library traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Public libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Clarence Brown Lester Dianne McAfee Hopkins Katharine MacDonald Jones Public library systems Pewaukee Public Library Middleton Public Library Elroy Public Library membership libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lowell W. Wilson Irene W. Newman Dick Sorensen Eratus Swift Wilcox Milwaukee Public Library Buttons Digital Collections background Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2014 Bob Bochfer 21 Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 People Nancy Marshall Jane K. Billings 20 Cooperative Children's Book Center J. D. Witter Peter G. Hamon Postcards 28 Events & Meetings UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Edward Asahel Birge Library People Tower Hill Wisconsin John Miller Chancellor WHCLIS Ice Storm McMillan Memorial Library Suring Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Hall Carl Spitzweg Ripon Public Library Library Systems Orrilla Blackshear Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Rapids Brown Deer Public Library WWI Library War Service Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Clinton Public Library caly film Helen Adams Gertrude Thurow UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2015 Richard J. Sorensen trav Marketing-Publicity cam Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Postcards Hall of Fame 2018 Events & Meetings Parcel post caly film Frank Avery Hutchins library legislation Woman's Congress state historical society Carnegie libraries WLA 125 14 Postcards anniversaries Special libraries library exhibit Hall of Fame 2015 World War I I Love Libraries Black River Falls Capitol Fire 1904 Lucy E. Smith Morris Gerald A. Somers Matthew S. Dudgeon Manitowoc Public Library Campaign Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2009 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2013 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruby Roeder Uncategorized Campaign Gilbert H. Doane James Huff Stout Brown Deer Public Library Charles Bunge State Law Library Madison Public Library CCBC Zona Gale archives School libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Rusk County Community Library Eager Free Public Library Beloit Public Library Library History Wisconsin Historical Society books-by-mail WAAL Hall of Fame 2015 presentations James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries ca Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2010 Pinback buttons Public libraries caly film Dorothea M. Krause Louise S. Robbins American Library Association campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Meter mail slogans 23 Superior Carnegie Libraries Bernard Schwab library memorabilia 10

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo