Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged James Huff Stout

Library Legislative Day 1895

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
in WLA 125

WLA's Library Legislative Day for 2016 will occur next week on February 9th. Library legislation like everything else connected to Wisconsin libraries also has a heritage. In his 1966 history of the Wisconsin Library Association Benton H. Wilcox wrote about WLA's first legislative victory. Lutie Stearns attended the American Library Association meeting in Lake Placid New York in 1894 where she was introduced to the idea of a state library commission. Stearns brought back copies of legislation establishing such commissions in New Hampshire and Massachuttes and was enthusiastic about establishing such a commission in Wisconsin. Wisconsin's first library legislative champion Senator James Huff Stout introduced the necessary legislation early in the 1895 legislative session. According to Wilcox this legislation was the principal subject of discussion at WLA's conference in Madison on February 13 and 14, 1895. At that conference, WLA enorsed the legislation and appointed a committee to work for its enactment.  Wilcox writes: "The legislature was less than enthusiastic but by holding the requested appropriation to only $500 per annum for expenses, Senator Stout was able to bring it through, and it became law late in April, 1895. The Association had achieved its first notable victory." So WLA has been involved in library legislation for 121 years. The result of that early success was the creation of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission which is now the Division for Libraries and Technology. Both Stearns and Stout were inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008.

Information about this year's legislative day can be found HERE. An important feature of this year's legislative day will be the kickoff of WLA's 125th Anniversary Celebration in the rotunda of the State Capitol at 12:00 noon.


Recent comment in this post Show all comments
  • Larry Nix says #
    This is a test.


Popular Tags

School libraries buil Hall of Fame 2012 Historical Register Library Buidlings Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin State Law Library Peter G. Hamon S. Janice Kee Lutie Eugenia Stearns background Portage Public Library WWI Library War Service Superior Carnegie Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox National Bookmobile Day Soughton Public Library Carnegie libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Dianne McAfee Hopkins School of Library and Information Studies Eager Free Public Library Meter mail slogans Library Systems Tower Hill Wisconsin Clinton Public Library anniversaries Special libraries Wisconsin Rapids Ripon Public Library Public library systems Anniversaries Campaign caly film COLAND books-by-mail Parcel post Suring Area Public Library Ice Storm Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2008 27 Hall of Fame 2015 Charles Bunge Digital Collections Carl Spitzweg ca Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries caly film Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library hall of DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 William J. Wilson Wisconsin Free Library Commission Gerald A. Somers J. D. Witter UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library People Hall of Fame 2013 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library Buildings Lowell W. Wilson T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Events Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Postcards Richard E. Krug Library Trustees membership libraries caly film Hall of Fame 2010 WAAL 14 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Wayne A. Wiegand Events & Meetings James Duane Doty Appleton Public Library WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies library memorabilia WHCLIS library exhibit World War I Madison Public Library Postcards Manitowoc Public Library library legislation White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Sandra Friedman Dolnick Sarah Janice Kee Bernard Schwab Larry T. Nix Elroy Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Postcards Louise S. Robbins Frank Avery Hutchins Hartford Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Pewaukee Public Library Hall Library people Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends archives Academic Librarians James Huff Stout Cornelia Marving Pierce 24 Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Historical Society Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Evansville Wisconsin bed and breakfast 20 Black River Falls Public Library Postcards Delia Ovitz Centennial campaign John Miller Chancellor Exhibits Brown County Library Edward Asahel Birge Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Events & Meetings Katharine MacDonald Jones state historical society Uncategorized Publications John J. Jax Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide CCBC trav Beloit Public Library Library celebrations Public libraries Lutie Stearns 21 Marketing-Publicity Middleton Public Library Buttons Brown Deer Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee WLA 125 22 I Love Libraries Anniversaries Cooperative Children's Book Center Orrilla Blackshear Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Library Artifacts Increase A. Lapham Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Ruby Roeder library education campa National Library Week Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries traveling libraries presentations WLA 125 11 campaign Woman's Congress Beaver Dam Public Library Inform Wisconsin campaign Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2009 Pinback buttons Black River Falls Cam Amer American Library Association Library War Service 10 American Library Association 28 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2011 23 bookworm cam Zona Gale Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Brown Deer Public Library State Law Library Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2015 Irene W. Newman Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2014 Academic Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2016 People Clarence Brown Lester Oshkosh Public Library Rusk County Community Library Campaign Library e Library History Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Matthew S. Dudgeon

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo