Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Ice Storm

Elroy's Public Library and the Ice Storm of 1922

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, June 25, 2012
in Postcards


I've lived in Wisconsin for 32 years and I've never experienced a serious ice storm. I missed the devastating ice storm of March, 1976. In February of 1922 Wisconsin also experienced one the worst ice storms in its history. During that ice storm ice accumulations ranging from one inch to as high as four inches brought down over 15,000 communication poles and caused $10 million in property damage (an enormous sum at that time). Interruptions in power and communications because of the storm ranged from 2 to 15 days. Elroy, WI was one of the communities that was hit hard by the ice storm. I recently acquired the postcard shown above which documents the impact of the storm around the Elroy Public Library.


Popular Tags

Historical Register CCBC Madison Public Library traveling libraries bed and breakfast Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Increase A. Lapham Orrilla Blackshear Edward Asahel Birge Ruby Roeder Library Systems Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2010 World War I People Pewaukee Public Library WHCLIS Publications Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Brown Deer Public Library Library History John Miller Chancellor Jerome P. Daniels 11 Superior Carnegie Libraries Campaign Klaus Linderfelt Frank Avery Hutchins Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center state historical society Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2015 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Manitowoc Public Library Centennial 20 J. D. Witter Gerald A. Somers Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library Parcel post 27 National Bookmobile Day 23 caly film campaign WAAL Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Helen Adams Appleton Public Library Library Trustees Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Association Bob Bochfer Gertrude Thurow campaign Lowell W. Wilson Exhibits Hall of Fame 2017 Oshkosh Public Library WLA 125 Library Buidlings Eager Free Public Library membership libraries Portage Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries State Law Library Jane K. Billings Amer Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2013 Events Cam library legislation hall of Zona Gale 22 WLA 125 S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Rapids Sarah Janice Kee Digital Collections School libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 21 Events & Meetings Uncategorized Carl Spitzweg Woman's Congress Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 10 24 Library e Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2011 National Library Week Anniversaries cam Buttons library memorabilia Public libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Richard E. Krug WWI Library War Service caly film DeForest Area Public Library James Huff Stout Cooperative Children's Book Center American Library Association Postcards Clarence Brown Lester buil Hall of Fame 2015 Rusk County Community Library Postcards Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall fo Fame 2012 books-by-mail Ripon Public Library Brown County Library Library Buildings Soughton Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Delia Ovitz Special libraries William J. Wilson Academic Libraries Bookmobiles Eratus Swift Wilcox Library people Postcards Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Katharine MacDonald Jones White House Conference on Library and Information Services UW-Madison school of library and information studies John J. Jax Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2008 bookworm Gilbert H. Doane Campaign 14 Black River Falls library exhibit Inform Wisconsin Peter G. Hamon presentations Lucy E. Smith Morris Academic Librarians Lutie Eugenia Stearns Marketing-Publicity I Love Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2009 archives Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries Council on Library and Network Development campaign campa Meter mail slogans Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians McMillan Memorial Library Evansville Wisconsin Carnegie libraries anniversaries caly film Wisconsin State Law Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Events & Meetings Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Pinback buttons Louise S. Robbins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries COLAND UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand trav Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Suring Area Public Library Middleton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Robert Bocher Matthew S. Dudgeon Lutie Stearns Library people Capitol Fire 1904 library education Campaign ca Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Hall Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Free Library Commission 28 background James Duane Doty Ice Storm WLA 125 Wisconsin Historical Society T. B. Scott Free Public Library Clinton Public Library Nolan I. Neds WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2014 Irene W. Newman Public library systems

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo