Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Hall of Fame 2008

Muriel Laura Fuller (1912-1978)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, April 08, 2009
in Hall of Fame

fuller-72-b.jpgMuriel Laura Fuller was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008.  Fuller served as Assistant Librarian at the La Crosse Public Library from 1943 to 1947 after receiving her B.L.S from the University of Wisconsin Library School. She became Librarian in 1947 and continued in that position until 1953. She was active in statewide library planning and legislative matters within the Wisconsin Library Association serving as Chair of the WLA’s Statewide Committee for a number of years.  In 1952 she took a leave of absence from the La Crosse Public Library to direct WLA’s legislative campaign.  Fuller was a leader in continuing education for librarianship.  After working for the State Library of Michigan from 1953 to 1962, she joined the faculty of the UW-Madison Library School in 1962 moving from lecturer to the rank of full professor in the next 15 years. In 1963 and continuing until her retirement in 1977 she held a joint appointment as Chairperson of the Department of Library Science in University of Wisconsin Extension. She served as President of WLA in 1968-1969. She received WLA's Citation of Merit award in 1972.  Fuller drowned on June 17, 1978 in a freak boating accident on Lake Pomona in Kansas while teaching at summer school at Emporia State University’s Library School.  The Muriel Fuller award was established by WLA in her honor in 1991. She was selected for inclusion on the National Advocacy Honor Roll  by the American Library Association in 2000 for her contribution as an advocate for library services in the 20th century. The image is used with permission of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Library and Information Studies.


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2012 National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2013 Milwaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick John J. Jax Middleton Public Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Library Systems library education Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Bob Bochfer James Huff Stout Library Trustees Events & Meetings UW-Milwaukee Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Public library systems Library Buildings Exhibits WLA 125 James Duane Doty Brown Deer Public Library Edward Asahel Birge 11 Public libraries traveling libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Uncategorized Library History William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers J. D. Witter Frank Avery Hutchins 20 Library people Council on Library and Network Development ca Amer Campaign WHCLIS I Love Libraries Ice Storm Helen Adams Publications T. B. Scott Free Public Library State Law Library Digital Collections Nancy Marshall Campaign Dick Sorensen Tower Hill Wisconsin Manitowoc Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Carl Spitzweg Postcards Lutie Eugenia Stearns Historical Register Wisconsin Free Library Commission WAAL American Library Association Library Buidlings Gertrude Thurow Evansville Wisconsin 27 Hall Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries 14 Hall of Fame 2016 Library Artifacts Centennial World War I Milwaukee Public Library Parcel post Postcards Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2012 Hall fo Fame 2012 anniversaries Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hartford Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Meter mail slogans Anniversaries Wisconsin Historical Society Buttons Library People library legislation Dorothea M. Krause People background Events Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2019 books-by-mail Special libraries Larry T. Nix caly film Bookmobiles UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2015 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2014 21 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Clarence Brown Lester American Library Association Library War Service Academic Librarians McMillan Memorial Library Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 trav Hall of Fame 2009 Increase A. Lapham Carnegie libraries DeForest Area Public Library Events & Meetings Klaus Linderfelt Dick Sorensen 24 buil Jerome P. Daniels Public libraries Cam Hall of Fame 2010 Robert Bocher hall of WLA 125 Wisconsin State Law Library Rusk County Community Library cam Matthew S. Dudgeon campaign Orrilla Blackshear 23 COLAND campaign Woman's Congress Jane K. Billings Richard E. Krug Sarah Janice Kee presentations Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2015 Richard J. Sorensen 28 Wisconsin Rapids Oshkosh Public Library Ripon Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Library celebrations Madison Public Library campa Lowell W. Wilson caly film CCBC S. Janice Kee Capitol Fire 1904 Louise S. Robbins 22 Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2008 Ruby Roeder Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week Campaign Hall of Fame 2018 caly film library memorabilia Zona Gale 10 Suring Area Public Library Elroy Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Lutie Stearns Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Library Association School libraries archives Lucy E. Smith Morris Eager Free Public Library WWI Library War Service Delia Ovitz Black River Falls Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Pewaukee Public Library John Miller Chancellor Postcards Cooperative Children's Book Center WLA 125 campaign Academic Libraries Library people Postcards WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Nolan I. Neds Dianne McAfee Hopkins Charles Bunge Portage Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Pinback buttons Katharine MacDonald Jones Superior Carnegie Libraries state historical society Eratus Swift Wilcox UW-Madison school of library and information studies Appleton Public Library Brown County Library Anniversaries Wayne A. Wiegand Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2018 Library e Inform Wisconsin School of Library and Information Studies library exhibit Peter G. Hamon Soughton Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo