Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Hall fo Fame 2012

Clarence Brown Lester (1877-1951)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 22, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Clarence LesterClarence Brown Lester served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission from 1920 to 1949, the longest tenure for any Secretary of the Commission. Prior to becoming Secretary he was chief of the Commission's special training course for reference librarians (1913-1920). The Wisconsin Library Association’s Clarence B. Lester Library of the Year award (now just the Library of the Year Award) was established in his honor in 1955. He served as President of the National Association of State Libraries and also of the League of Library Commissions. Lester was a native of Providence, RI and a graduate of Brown University.  Lester was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


Popular Tags

Buttons White House Conference on Library and Information Services School of Library and Information Studies Amer People Milwaukee Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Academic Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm anniversaries State Law Library Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Rapids Ruth Ann Montgomery Elroy Public Library National Library Week Parcel post James Huff Stout Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends books-by-mail Library people Postcards Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Portage Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library library legislation 20 Public libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library 14 Zona Gale caly film WAAL John Miller Chancellor 21 Wisconsin Library Bulletin 22 McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Library Association CCBC Matthew S. Dudgeon Gertrude Thurow Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Ripon Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2009 campaign Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Bernard Schwab Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Council on Library and Network Development Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 23 Library Systems Marketing-Publicity Katharine MacDonald Jones library education state historical society Beaver Dam Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 Library Artifacts presentations Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Peter G. Hamon Anniversaries Irene W. Newman Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 World War I Clinton Public Library Nolan I. Neds Larry T. Nix hall of Public library systems Superior Carnegie Libraries COLAND I Love Libraries WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Edward Asahel Birge 24 Postcards Events Gilbert H. Doane Milwaukee Art Museum Library Trustees Campaign Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Historical Society Middleton Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2013 Anniversaries DeForest Area Public Library Bookmobiles Library Buildings Orrilla Blackshear Inform Wisconsin Carl Spitzweg Exhibits Madison Public Library Brown County Library Eager Free Public Library Sarah Janice Kee S. Janice Kee archives Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Centennial School libraries trav WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Manitowoc Public Library Public libraries Events & Meetings Ice Storm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Publications Richard E. Krug Hall fo Fame 2012 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 membership libraries cam Lutie Eugenia Stearns Campaign caly film Tower Hill Wisconsin UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Digital Collections Brown Deer Public Library Hall Clarence Brown Lester American Library Association James Duane Doty 28 caly film Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin State Law Library William J. Wilson Wayne A. Wiegand Woman's Congress WWI Library War Service Campaign Cam Hall of Fame 2016 Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Eratus Swift Wilcox Library People Library celebrations National Bookmobile Day Library Buidlings Uncategorized Academic Librarians campaign Carnegie libraries Black River Falls 10 Dorothea M. Krause American Library Association Library War Service bed and breakfast Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 27 Black River Falls Public Library Library History Jane K. Billings traveling libraries ca campaign Suring Area Public Library Historical Register Hall of Fame 2015 Delia Ovitz Increase A. Lapham WLA 125 library memorabilia Beloit Public Library library exhibit Soughton Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2010 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Rusk County Community Library Gerald A. Somers Frank Avery Hutchins Special libraries Oshkosh Public Library background Pinback buttons buil 11 Cornelia Marving Pierce WLA 125 Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2014 Library people campa Brown Deer Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo