Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Hall

Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 07, 2013
in Hall of Fame

Leonard ArcherLeonard B. Archer was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Archer served as Director of the Oshkosh Public Library (1958 to 1978) and held as joint appointment as Director of the Winnefox Library System. He initiated bookmobile service for Winnebago County and was instrumental in establishing the Winnefox Library System. He was an advocate for intellectual freedom and served as chair of the Wisconsin Library Association’s (WLA) Intellectual Freedom Committee (1963-65). He was named Librarian of the Year by WLA in 1975. He was awarded the Chancellor’s Medal for work with the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh in developing a “people’s university” in the public library. After retirement he moved to Middleton, WI in 1978 where he became active with the Middleton Public Library as a member of the library board and the Friends of the Library. He also served on the board of the South Central Library System. Archer was born in Petersburg, VA. He received a BA degree from the University of Richmond and a library degree from Emory University. Prior to coming to Wisconsin he worked in libraries in the District of Columbia, Detroit, MI, Plainfield, VT, and Rutland, VT. Archer was married to Marion Fuller Archer, who was a children's librarian, author, and faculty member at the University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh. Meeting rooms at the Middleton Public Library are named for Leonard Archer and Marion Archer.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.



Popular Tags

Postcards Wisconsin State Law Library Woman's Congress McMillan Memorial Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2015 Soughton Public Library Library Buildings Library Artifacts Centennial Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2011 Eratus Swift Wilcox Eager Free Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Public libraries Elroy Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Bulletin School libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission CCBC Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Postcards caly film Lutie Stearns Anniversaries Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2016 library education Jane K. Billings library exhibit cam Black River Falls Public Library traveling libraries John J. Jax Marketing-Publicity Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week Hall of Fame 2009 presentations Clarence Brown Lester Milwaukee Art Museum Uncategorized WAAL trav Events & Meetings campa Hall of Fame 2012 Increase A. Lapham Exhibits Library People Buttons American Library Association I Love Libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 21 State Law Library Gerald A. Somers Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Irene W. Newman Larry T. Nix John Miller Chancellor Clinton Public Library Ice Storm Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buidlings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services 14 Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Charles Bunge membership libraries Library Trustees Evansville Wisconsin archives Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 10 Middleton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Library Systems anniversaries Ruby Roeder T. B. Scott Free Public Library caly film Hall of Fame 2012 Anniversaries Events William J. Wilson Pewaukee Public Library Amer Sandra Friedman Dolnick Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Inform Wisconsin WLA 125 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2008 Meter mail slogans Carl Spitzweg Brown County Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services campaign Appleton Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Cornelia Marving Pierce Lowell W. Wilson Tower Hill Wisconsin Postcards Nolan I. Neds Campaign School of Library and Information Studies Digital Collections Orrilla Blackshear Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library History ca Gilbert H. Doane bed and breakfast People World War I James Huff Stout Delia Ovitz 23 Special libraries state historical society Wisconsin Rapids campaign Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign J. D. Witter UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall 20 Historical Register 24 WWI Library War Service DeForest Area Public Library library memorabilia Council on Library and Network Development S. Janice Kee books-by-mail bookworm WLA 125 Pinback buttons Manitowoc Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Louise S. Robbins Campaign Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 27 Wayne A. Wiegand COLAND Hall of Fame 2010 Public libraries WLA 125 Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Association Library celebrations Oshkosh Public Library Library people Black River Falls Ripon Public Library Bookmobiles Dianne McAfee Hopkins Superior Carnegie Libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Madison Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Milwaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library buil 28 Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 National Bookmobile Day Library e 22 Academic Libraries background Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Gertrude Thurow Bernard Schwab WLA 125 Library people Postcards 11 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2015 James Duane Doty Carnegie libraries Dorothea M. Krause Publications Beaver Dam Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Beloit Public Library Hartford Public Library library legislation Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide caly film Cam hall of Parcel post campaign American Library Association Library War Service WHCLIS Public library systems Peter G. Hamon Edward Asahel Birge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo