Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Gertrude Thurow

GERTRUDE THUROW (1906-1993), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
in Hall of Fame
Gertrude ThurowGertrude Thurow was inducted into the WI Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Thurow served as Director of the La Crosse Public Library (1953-1975) and was instrumental in establishing the predecessors of the Winding Rivers Library System (1965-1975). She served as President of the Wisconsin Library (1955-56). Thurow was honored as WLA Librarian of the Year in 1959, and received WLA’s Special Service Award in1975. At the La Crosse Public Library she helped to  establish an active Friends of the Library organization, and oversaw the construction of a new library building.
Thurow was born in La Crosse, WI in 1906 but moved frequently during her childhood. She received a Bachelors of Library Science degree from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Before becoming a librarian she was a teacher. She worked as a reference librarian in Sheboygan before joining the La Crosse Public Library in November 1943. In June 1953 she became library director of the La Crosse Public Library. The new library building was dedicated on November 5, 1967. She retired on September 30, 1975.
Source: A Gift to La Crosse: A History of the La Crosse Public Library by Anita Taylor Doering and Bill Petersen (La Crosse Public Library, 1997). The photograph of Thurow is courtesy of the La Crosse Public Library.


Popular Tags

Public library systems White House Conference on Library and Information Services Public libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Eager Free Public Library Zona Gale WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2011 Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2012 Events & Meetings caly film Klaus Linderfelt Parcel post Cam Library Trustees McMillan Memorial Library 20 WAAL Orrilla Blackshear Capitol Fire 1904 anniversaries 27 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campa Elroy Public Library Rusk County Community Library Increase A. Lapham William J. Wilson Milwaukee Art Museum Richard E. Krug Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Events & Meetings Madison Public Library Campaign American Library Association Library War Service Eratus Swift Wilcox American Library Association hall of Academic Librarians Digital Collections caly film 21 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library Artifacts Hall fo Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2016 books-by-mail cam Hall of Fame 2015 Manitowoc Public Library Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2014 WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity Gilbert H. Doane library memorabilia bed and breakfast Library people Inform Wisconsin James Huff Stout membership libraries Centennial trav John Miller Chancellor Campaign Louise S. Robbins library legislation Peter G. Hamon Carnegie libraries Pewaukee Public Library Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends library exhibit Larry T. Nix buil Publications 10 Bernard Schwab 24 J. D. Witter Delia Ovitz campaign Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand 14 Library Systems Meter mail slogans T. B. Scott Free Public Library Ripon Public Library ca Hall of Fame 2010 COLAND Hall of Fame 2008 World War I Ruby Roeder Edward Asahel Birge Dianne McAfee Hopkins Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Portage Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Beloit Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Rapids Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2012 23 Appleton Public Library archives WLA 125 Events Black River Falls Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Public libraries Amer Hall DeForest Area Public Library Buttons Bookmobiles Wisconsin Library Association Oshkosh Public Library I Love Libraries Irene W. Newman Cooperative Children's Book Center James Duane Doty Special libraries CCBC School of Library and Information Studies Middleton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery State Law Library National Bookmobile Day Library people Postcards Anniversaries WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 11 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library e Nolan I. Neds Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries presentations Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services School libraries 28 Library People Hartford Public Library campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Suring Area Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Jane K. Billings Academic Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Library Buildings bookworm Postcards Library History Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2015 Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2009 National Library Week Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin State Law Library Woman's Congress Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2012 Library Buidlings state historical society 22 Council on Library and Network Development campaign Clinton Public Library traveling libraries Black River Falls Charles Bunge WWI Library War Service Brown Deer Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Free Library Commission WHCLIS Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2017 Lutie Stearns Soughton Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Postcards Marjorie Sornson Malmberg library education Brown Deer Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Tower Hill Wisconsin People Lowell W. Wilson Sarah Janice Kee Sandra Friedman Dolnick Exhibits background Brown County Library Uncategorized caly film Gertrude Thurow Lutie Eugenia Stearns Historical Register

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo