Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Frank Avery Hutchins

Frank Avery Hutchins (1851-1914)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, December 04, 2008
in Hall of Fame

hutchins-72.jpgFrank Avery Hutchins was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2008. Hutchins was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891.  He served as President of WLA from 1894 to 1897.  As President of WLA he was instrumental in starting the Summer School for Library Economy in 1895 which became the Wisconsin Library School in 1906.  He helped establish the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1895 and was its initial Chair until 1897.  In 1897 with the reorganization and increased funding of the WFLC he became its first paid Secretary, a post he held until 1904.  He originated the idea of the Wisconsin Legislative Reference Library which became a unit of the WFLC and served as a national model.  He was a national leader in public library development and extension.  Helen Lyman in the Dictionary of American Library Biography entry for Hutchins said, “He belongs to that small group of men and women who formed and developed the modern library movement and made the library profession what it has become.” Hutchins became interested in libraries while serving as editor of the weekly newspaper, the Beaver Dam Argus.  He helped organize the Beaver Dam Free Library Association which was established in 1884. He was featured in the "As it Was in The Beginning" series of the Public Libraries magazine (1925, volume 30, pages186-190).   He is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . The image of Hutchins is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 29375.



Popular Tags

11 Lutie Eugenia Stearns DeForest Area Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Centennial Wisconsin Historical Society Richard E. Krug Marketing-Publicity Beaver Dam Public Library Irene W. Newman caly film Historical Register Campaign Wayne A. Wiegand WLA 125 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Library Association White House Conference on Library and Information Services Library e Library Artifacts People I Love Libraries Increase A. Lapham library education Jane K. Billings Larry T. Nix Academic Libraries Wisconsin Rapids WLA 125 James Duane Doty Library Systems Digital Collections Special libraries William J. Wilson Peter G. Hamon Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2009 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 28 20 Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2015 Tower Hill Wisconsin Cam campaign archives Beloit Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Portage Public Library Exhibits presentations CCBC WAAL Eager Free Public Library Library Buildings Marjorie Sornson Malmberg cam School libraries Public libraries Hall of Fame 2013 National Library Week Bookmobiles Amer Carl Spitzweg Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2016 state historical society WHCLIS Bernard Schwab WLA 125 Anniversaries Eratus Swift Wilcox campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2015 Public library systems trav Pewaukee Public Library Evansville Wisconsin UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Zona Gale membership libraries Hartford Public Library Parcel post Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2010 Sarah Janice Kee Library History Library people Black River Falls Postcards Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends background Edward Asahel Birge Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library ca Hall Dorothea M. Krause Carnegie libraries Klaus Linderfelt 23 Brown Deer Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2015 Nolan I. Neds Pinback buttons American Library Association Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 buil Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Soughton Public Library S. Janice Kee J. D. Witter Milwaukee Art Museum Jerome P. Daniels Academic Librarians 21 Hall of Fame 2015 hall of traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin 14 Cornelia Marving Pierce Elroy Public Library bed and breakfast Capitol Fire 1904 Oshkosh Public Library Events & Meetings Frank Avery Hutchins Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Brown County Library library legislation Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Ice Storm Buttons library memorabilia WLA 125 Rusk County Community Library Postcards Library people Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries Meter mail slogans World War I Katharine MacDonald Jones UW-Madison school of library and information studies John Miller Chancellor Matthew S. Dudgeon WWI Library War Service Ripon Public Library Library People Wisconsin Free Library Commission library exhibit Wisconsin State Law Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission McMillan Memorial Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Cooperative Children's Book Center Gertrude Thurow campaign Gerald A. Somers Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign Publications Library celebrations Madison Public Library Uncategorized Library Buidlings 27 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Events Manitowoc Public Library Public libraries caly film Hall of Fame 2012 Orrilla Blackshear Council on Library and Network Development Middleton Public Library COLAND National Bookmobile Day Appleton Public Library Suring Area Public Library State Law Library anniversaries American Library Association Library War Service Events & Meetings Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries School of Library and Information Studies caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Trustees Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Charles Bunge campa Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 24 Inform Wisconsin 22 books-by-mail T. B. Scott Free Public Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2008 James Huff Stout

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo