Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52
Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Edward Asahel Birge

Edward Asahel Birge 1851-1950

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, December 31, 2008
in Hall of Fame

birge.jpgEdward Asahel Birge was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2008. Birge was one of a small group of people who gathered in the office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on February 11, 1891 to organize the Wisconsin Library Association.  At the time Birge was a noted Professor of Zoology at the University of Wisconsin and a member of the Madison Public Library Board.  He served on the Madison Public Library Board from 1891 to 1909 and was its chairman from 1893 to 1909.  He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association from 1897 to 1899 and again in 1905-1906. He was a member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission. He had a long and active career at the University of Wisconsin serving as Professor of Zoology (1879-1911), Dean of the College of Letters and Science (1891-1918), Acting President  (1900--1903), and President (1918- 1925).  He is listed in the  Dictionary of Wisconsin History.  Thanks to the University of Wisconsin-Madison Archives and Records Mangement Services for permission to use the image of Birge. 


Other links:



Note: In the comming months we will be featuring 2008 inductees to the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on the blog component of the the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center website. Not only will this provide more exposure to these exceptional people, it will enable us to deal with a technical difficulty in organizing our site. 



Popular Tags

caly film Events & Meetings Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin Free Library Commission background Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 Madison Public Library Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2016 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries books-by-mail buil Elroy Public Library National Library Week Brown County Library WHCLIS Anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Special libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Helen Adams archives Events Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 27 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wayne A. Wiegand Exhibits John Miller Chancellor Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards state historical society Black River Falls American Library Association Ice Storm Matthew S. Dudgeon Superior Carnegie Libraries J. D. Witter Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Brown Deer Public Library Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2009 Delia Ovitz Postcards Campaign Irene W. Newman bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Larry T. Nix Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Public libraries Brown Deer Public Library Library people Historical Register WLA 125 Ruby Roeder Marketing-Publicity People membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Eager Free Public Library Charles Bunge McMillan Memorial Library Suring Area Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Nolan I. Neds John J. Jax hall of Gerald A. Somers caly film Library History 20 UW-Madison school of library and information studies James Huff Stout Library Artifacts Sarah Janice Kee Lutie Eugenia Stearns bed and breakfast Zona Gale Library celebrations Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2011 Library Trustees 11 Orrilla Blackshear CCBC S. Janice Kee Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 anniversaries Jerome P. Daniels Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2015 campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services cam Library people Postcards 23 Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Buttons library exhibit Events & Meetings School libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Beloit Public Library Library e Hall of Fame 2015 24 Ruth Ann Montgomery Middleton Public Library Academic Librarians library memorabilia T. B. Scott Free Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Cam Hall of Fame 2018 campaign Capitol Fire 1904 Edward Asahel Birge library legislation Carl Spitzweg trav Louise S. Robbins DeForest Area Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Parcel post Bernard Schwab Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2014 State Law Library Milwaukee Public Library Digital Collections UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Clinton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Robert Bocher Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Soughton Public Library Pinback buttons Appleton Public Library Amer Pewaukee Public Library caly film 28 Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2012 21 ca presentations Klaus Linderfelt WLA 125 William J. Wilson Milwaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Increase A. Lapham traveling libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 22 James Duane Doty COLAND Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Ripon Public Library Woman's Congress Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Public libraries Manitowoc Public Library Library Systems Wisconsin Library Association Hall fo Fame 2012 Library Buidlings Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 Campaign Carnegie libraries National Bookmobile Day Black River Falls Public Library Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library Buildings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Frank Avery Hutchins Eratus Swift Wilcox WWI Library War Service American Library Association Library War Service I Love Libraries WAAL Hartford Public Library 14 Wisconsin Historical Society Publications Bookmobiles campa Wisconsin State Law Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Jane K. Billings Milwaukee Art Museum Cornelia Marving Pierce Centennial 10 Tower Hill Wisconsin World War I Bob Bochfer library education Meter mail slogans Academic Libraries Peter G. Hamon Cooperative Children's Book Center Beaver Dam Public Library Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Library Bulletin Lutie Stearns Hall campaign Public library systems

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo