Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Council on Library and Network Development

Creation of the Council on Library & Network Development

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, June 29, 2016
in WLA 125
In 1979 the Wisconsin Legislature created a Council on Library and Network Development (COLAND) within the Department of Public Instruction.  The 19 member advisory council advises the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on issues relating to library and information services in Wisconsin.  Members of the Council are appointed by the Governor for three year terms and include a combination of professional and public members.  COLAND emerged from a study conducted by a Special Committee of the Wisconsin Legislative Council in 1977-1979 which was chaired by Calvin Potter.  The Special Committee was charged with developing recommendations relating to: 1) the state aid formula for public library system aids; 2) the future role and function of the Division for Library Services in DPI; and 3) the role of the State Reference and Loan Library in DPI.  The Wisconsin Library Association actively monitored the work of the Special Committee.  The most controversial aspect of the work of the Committee concerned the issue of governance and administration of the Division for Library Services (DLS).  DLS had been created in 1965 when the former Wisconsin Free Library Commission was eliminated and this function was transferred to the DPI. The Secretary position of the former Commission became a Division Administrator position in DPI and was a non-political civil service appointment.  The Wisconsin library community and members of WLA split on how DLS should be governed and administered in the future. One faction wanted to create a new independent board to oversee state level library development and cooperation efforts and another faction wanted to preserve the Division for Library Services as a unit in DPI. The Special Committee of the Legislative Council recommended the creation of COLAND as compromise and it was incorporated into AB 20, the bill introduced by the Legislative Council as a result of the study and enacted by the Legislature.  As part of AB20, the Administrator position for the Division for Library Services was removed from civil service and the appointment was to be made in the future at the pleasure of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.  


Popular Tags

Lutie Eugenia Stearns Anniversaries Lowell W. Wilson Wisconsin Free Library Commission campaign James Huff Stout Centennial membership libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Ruth Ann Montgomery Nolan I. Neds 11 WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Delia Ovitz hall of Cornelia Marving Pierce Library Systems anniversaries Campaign Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 School libraries Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2016 Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 24 Irene W. Newman I Love Libraries Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2014 Superior Carnegie Libraries Library Trustees American Library Association Library War Service Gilbert H. Doane WHCLIS Beloit Public Library Bernard Schwab Wisconsin State Law Library background Manitowoc Public Library books-by-mail Library people Special libraries Parcel post Black River Falls Public Library Academic Librarians Sandra Friedman Dolnick School of Library and Information Studies Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library Buildings Madison Public Library COLAND Jane K. Billings Sarah Janice Kee Capitol Fire 1904 28 Library People Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians archives Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 John Miller Chancellor Matthew S. Dudgeon Uncategorized Campaign Dianne McAfee Hopkins National Bookmobile Day Carnegie libraries Buttons Cam Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends World War I Elroy Public Library campa WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries Academic Libraries James Duane Doty Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 campaign Evansville Wisconsin Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2013 Increase A. Lapham Ice Storm Pinback buttons Meter mail slogans Digital Collections Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards Frank Avery Hutchins 27 10 Bookmobiles Ruby Roeder Historical Register Events & Meetings Ripon Public Library traveling libraries Rusk County Community Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Edward Asahel Birge Klaus Linderfelt cam bed and breakfast J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2009 WAAL trav Portage Public Library Gertrude Thurow Carl Spitzweg Library celebrations Brown Deer Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Council on Library and Network Development Milwaukee Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2011 Louise S. Robbins Brown County Library library memorabilia Richard E. Krug 14 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library people Postcards Marketing-Publicity Milwaukee Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wayne A. Wiegand McMillan Memorial Library Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society 23 Peter G. Hamon Library History UW-Madison school of library and information studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hartford Public Library ca campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center Public libraries 20 State Law Library Milwaukee Art Museum CCBC Exhibits UW-Milwaukee Libraries DeForest Area Public Library Campaign Zona Gale Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 library education Hall People Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jerome P. Daniels state historical society caly film Postcards presentations Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Beaver Dam Public Library Publications S. Janice Kee William J. Wilson Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Rapids Inform Wisconsin WLA 125 Library Artifacts White House Conference on Library and Information Services Black River Falls Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards caly film Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association buil Library Buidlings WLA 125 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services John J. Jax Clinton Public Library National Library Week Anniversaries caly film WLA 125 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide bookworm Amer Middleton Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Larry T. Nix UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Lutie Stearns 21 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library e Soughton Public Library library exhibit library legislation Appleton Public Library 22 Public library systems

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo