Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Cooperative Children's Book Center

Children's Library for Adults Celebrates 50 Years

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
in Special libraries

Cooperative Children's Book Center

For fifty years the Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) in Madison, WI has been assisting librarians, teachers, and parents with the selection of the best books for children. The CCBC has been celebrating this milestone with a number of activities this year including a gala dinner on October 17th and a special display (see above) at the Center. The CCBC opened on the fourth floor of the State Capitol on June 23, 1963. The "Cooperative" in its name is based on its original establishment as a cooperative project of the Division of Library Services in the Department of Public Instruction, the School of Library & Information Studies (SLIS) of the University of Wisconsin, and the UW School of Education. Currently it is administered solely by the UW School of Education. It is now located at UW-SLIS. The CCBC was established for the following purposes: 1) provide a centralized children's book collection; 2) provide a historical collection of children's books; 3) provide training in evaluating children's literature; 4) aid libraries, teachers, parents in making wise and economical book selections; and 5) develop adult interest in children's literature. The CCBC's current vision also includes advocating for the First Amendment rights of children and young adults. The CCBC has been a national leader in promoting quality multi-cultural literature for children. Happy 50th birthday CCBC!

This article also appeared on The Library History Buff Blog.


Popular Tags

22 campaign CCBC National Library Week Cornelia Marving Pierce Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2010 campaign Klaus Linderfelt Exhibits Library e Milwaukee Public Library I Love Libraries Peter G. Hamon Woman's Congress American Library Association Library War Service Louise S. Robbins Eager Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association background Bernard Schwab Milwaukee Art Museum Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Amer Wayne A. Wiegand Parcel post Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries presentations People Hall of Fame 2014 Special libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2012 bookworm Hall of Fame 2012 Library Systems Postcards Library History Gerald A. Somers membership libraries Historical Register Hall of Fame 2013 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Pinback buttons COLAND Lutie Stearns 20 WWI Library War Service Nolan I. Neds 23 Brown Deer Public Library Bob Bochfer Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2016 Capitol Fire 1904 caly film Bookmobiles McMillan Memorial Library 10 Portage Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Soughton Public Library traveling libraries Library Buidlings Suring Area Public Library National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Rapids Digital Collections Appleton Public Library WHCLIS Council on Library and Network Development caly film Library people cam Irene W. Newman James Huff Stout 14 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall Ruby Roeder Middleton Public Library Ice Storm 27 J. D. Witter Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 28 Hall of Fame 2011 Black River Falls 24 Lowell W. Wilson Frank Avery Hutchins Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2008 Superior Carnegie Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Events & Meetings Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown County Library Cooperative Children's Book Center books-by-mail WAAL Hall of Fame 2018 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Richard E. Krug Sarah Janice Kee Matthew S. Dudgeon Delia Ovitz Events & Meetings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart T. B. Scott Free Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Beloit Public Library State Law Library Hartford Public Library campaign Cam Academic Librarians Carl Spitzweg Oshkosh Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Ripon Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 World War I Buttons campa Hall of Fame 2017 Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Library People library education buil James Duane Doty Ruth Ann Montgomery state historical society WLA 125 Academic Libraries Anniversaries Inform Wisconsin Public library systems Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Carnegie libraries John Miller Chancellor Madison Public Library Campaign Larry T. Nix Milwaukee Public Library DeForest Area Public Library caly film Zona Gale Jerome P. Daniels Increase A. Lapham John J. Jax Library Trustees Library people Postcards Library Artifacts Marketing-Publicity Charles Bunge Gertrude Thurow Public libraries Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society 11 Robert Bocher White House Conference on Library and Information Services Dorothea M. Krause School libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 Helen Adams UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies S. Janice Kee Library celebrations ca Edward Asahel Birge Meter mail slogans library memorabilia Clarence Brown Lester Events Postcards Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2018 Campaign hall of Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Uncategorized Centennial Black River Falls Public Library Publications Katharine MacDonald Jones trav Beaver Dam Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies archives Anniversaries bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation Campaign School of Library and Information Studies Orrilla Blackshear Postcards Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Library Bulletin Sandra Friedman Dolnick anniversaries Public libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs 21 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2015 William J. Wilson American Library Association Lutie Eugenia Stearns library exhibit Wisconsin State Law Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2015 Clinton Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo