Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged COLAND

Creation of the Council on Library & Network Development

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, June 29, 2016
in WLA 125
In 1979 the Wisconsin Legislature created a Council on Library and Network Development (COLAND) within the Department of Public Instruction.  The 19 member advisory council advises the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on issues relating to library and information services in Wisconsin.  Members of the Council are appointed by the Governor for three year terms and include a combination of professional and public members.  COLAND emerged from a study conducted by a Special Committee of the Wisconsin Legislative Council in 1977-1979 which was chaired by Calvin Potter.  The Special Committee was charged with developing recommendations relating to: 1) the state aid formula for public library system aids; 2) the future role and function of the Division for Library Services in DPI; and 3) the role of the State Reference and Loan Library in DPI.  The Wisconsin Library Association actively monitored the work of the Special Committee.  The most controversial aspect of the work of the Committee concerned the issue of governance and administration of the Division for Library Services (DLS).  DLS had been created in 1965 when the former Wisconsin Free Library Commission was eliminated and this function was transferred to the DPI. The Secretary position of the former Commission became a Division Administrator position in DPI and was a non-political civil service appointment.  The Wisconsin library community and members of WLA split on how DLS should be governed and administered in the future. One faction wanted to create a new independent board to oversee state level library development and cooperation efforts and another faction wanted to preserve the Division for Library Services as a unit in DPI. The Special Committee of the Legislative Council recommended the creation of COLAND as compromise and it was incorporated into AB 20, the bill introduced by the Legislative Council as a result of the study and enacted by the Legislature.  As part of AB20, the Administrator position for the Division for Library Services was removed from civil service and the appointment was to be made in the future at the pleasure of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.  


Popular Tags

Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Soughton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Increase A. Lapham Eager Free Public Library Library History state historical society Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Brown Deer Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin campa 20 Jerome P. Daniels Hartford Public Library Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2011 James Huff Stout caly film Gerald A. Somers Centennial Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Peter G. Hamon School libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Louise S. Robbins Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall fo Fame 2012 J. D. Witter Historical Register Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons Jane K. Billings 11 DeForest Area Public Library Library Trustees COLAND Events library exhibit 23 State Law Library Charles Bunge Library People Exhibits Campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2012 library memorabilia Dianne McAfee Hopkins 14 McMillan Memorial Library Ripon Public Library Special libraries Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 background Middleton Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Library celebrations Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2012 Ruth Ann Montgomery trav Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Historical Society 22 Ruby Roeder Manitowoc Public Library Delia Ovitz Academic Libraries Library Systems Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Free Library Commission Madison Public Library Publications John J. Jax membership libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Library Buildings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services National Library Week Public libraries WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Association White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wayne A. Wiegand Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Events & Meetings traveling libraries American Library Association Public library systems WHCLIS hall of Inform Wisconsin Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WLA 125 Academic Librarians Amer Meter mail slogans books-by-mail Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Clinton Public Library Lutie Stearns Lowell W. Wilson American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies Public libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Digital Collections Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Larry T. Nix Sarah Janice Kee archives caly film Postcards campaign People Clarence Brown Lester Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Rapids bed and breakfast library legislation Edward Asahel Birge Parcel post Appleton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall Milwaukee Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Library people Postcards Campaign Postcards Anniversaries Carl Spitzweg Marketing-Publicity caly film anniversaries Matthew S. Dudgeon bookworm presentations Orrilla Blackshear Gertrude Thurow buil Katharine MacDonald Jones Black River Falls John Miller Chancellor William J. Wilson Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Pewaukee Public Library library education campaign Sandra Friedman Dolnick Brown Deer Public Library WAAL Library people S. Janice Kee Oshkosh Public Library Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Cam Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2015 National Bookmobile Day Brown County Library ca Library e WLA 125 Elroy Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Library Buidlings Buttons Capitol Fire 1904 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2009 27 campaign cam 10 I Love Libraries 28 Richard E. Krug Library Artifacts Suring Area Public Library Ice Storm WLA 125 21 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library WWI Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries World War I James Duane Doty Eratus Swift Wilcox T. B. Scott Free Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Bernard Schwab Frank Avery Hutchins Lutie Eugenia Stearns Uncategorized Nolan I. Neds CCBC Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Zona Gale Postcards 24

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo