Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Clarence Brown Lester

Clarence Brown Lester (1877-1951)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 22, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Clarence LesterClarence Brown Lester served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission from 1920 to 1949, the longest tenure for any Secretary of the Commission. Prior to becoming Secretary he was chief of the Commission's special training course for reference librarians (1913-1920). The Wisconsin Library Association’s Clarence B. Lester Library of the Year award (now just the Library of the Year Award) was established in his honor in 1955. He served as President of the National Association of State Libraries and also of the League of Library Commissions. Lester was a native of Providence, RI and a graduate of Brown University.  Lester was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


Popular Tags

library legislation Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Hall of Fame 2012 UW-Madison school of library and information studies traveling libraries Orrilla Blackshear Cooperative Children's Book Center World War I WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2016 Bernard Schwab cam anniversaries Postcards Dorothea M. Krause Marketing-Publicity School libraries Public libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign I Love Libraries Portage Public Library archives Black River Falls Public Library Library people Suring Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Matthew S. Dudgeon Cornelia Marving Pierce 22 Public library systems Hall of Fame 2014 Carnegie libraries American Library Association 20 Ripon Public Library Clinton Public Library Anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries Richard E. Krug Zona Gale DeForest Area Public Library caly film Library Buidlings Elroy Public Library Library Systems Brown Deer Public Library library exhibit Delia Ovitz WLA 125 Eager Free Public Library National Library Week Gilbert H. Doane campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Parcel post Library History WLA 125 National Bookmobile Day Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2015 presentations Manitowoc Public Library Library celebrations 27 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Academic Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Capitol Fire 1904 Brown County Library State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall WLA 125 Postcards membership libraries John Miller Chancellor campa Campaign Sarah Janice Kee Postcards Gertrude Thurow Exhibits Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Gerald A. Somers 23 Hall fo Fame 2012 Publications 11 trav 14 School of Library and Information Studies Woman's Congress William J. Wilson Nolan I. Neds Uncategorized Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Historical Society Peter G. Hamon Centennial 10 Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2015 Jerome P. Daniels Lutie Eugenia Stearns UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies campaign Amer Inform Wisconsin Hartford Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart library memorabilia Milwaukee Art Museum WHCLIS Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People James Huff Stout caly film Historical Register Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2012 Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2008 Library Trustees Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends buil Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services caly film background Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 books-by-mail Library Buildings Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide James Duane Doty Larry T. Nix White House Conference on Library and Information Services bed and breakfast Cam Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Postcards Madison Public Library Carl Spitzweg Events Beloit Public Library Ice Storm McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2013 Soughton Public Library Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 ca 21 28 S. Janice Kee J. D. Witter Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries hall of Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2015 Edward Asahel Birge library education Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Jane K. Billings Increase A. Lapham Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Pewaukee Public Library Irene W. Newman Oshkosh Public Library Lutie Stearns Rusk County Community Library Clarence Brown Lester Beaver Dam Public Library Bookmobiles bookworm Special libraries Buttons state historical society Library Artifacts Meter mail slogans WAAL Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Wisconsin Rapids Public libraries Frank Avery Hutchins Events & Meetings UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library campaign Klaus Linderfelt 24 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Association WWI Library War Service American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2011 Eratus Swift Wilcox Tower Hill Wisconsin Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians CCBC COLAND Dianne McAfee Hopkins

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo