Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Centennial

WLA’s Centennial Celebration

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 18, 2016
in WLA 125
wla-centennial-72 wla125logo-small
The Wisconsin Library Association celebrated its centennial in 1991. As with this year’s 125th anniversary celebration, WLA’s annual conference took place in Milwaukee. The conference theme was “Celebrating Ourselves”.  In the introduction to the conference program, WLA President Peter Hamon wrote : “The choice for our theme became obvious. We serve our various publics every day, year in and year out.  All that service is dedicated to them.  This conference, however, is not.  Instead it honors you, those who came before you, and those who will come after.  You and yours have served Wisconsin for a century.  For these few days, let us celebrate ourselves.” It was at this conference that a resolution was passed welcoming back into the WLA community WLA’s disgraced first president Klas Linderfelt.


Popular Tags

Library Artifacts Dorothea M. Krause Peter G. Hamon Frank Avery Hutchins caly film anniversaries Oshkosh Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Klaus Linderfelt Zona Gale Public libraries Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Library Bulletin WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 11 Irene W. Newman state historical society Postcards bed and breakfast library memorabilia American Library Association Library War Service UW-Milwaukee Libraries Sarah Janice Kee UW-Madison school of library and information studies Jane K. Billings cam Hall of Fame 2015 Katharine MacDonald Jones Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Centennial Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 27 Digital Collections Charles Bunge traveling libraries buil Hall of Fame 2012 Library people T. B. Scott Free Public Library Gerald A. Somers Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 Eager Free Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Suring Area Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins campa archives Public library systems John J. Jax Carnegie libraries Richard E. Krug National Library Week CCBC COLAND Cam Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2013 Public libraries Appleton Public Library Ripon Public Library membership libraries William J. Wilson Events & Meetings Publications Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Library Buildings Ruby Roeder Events Parcel post Jerome P. Daniels Lowell W. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries WHCLIS Exhibits Elroy Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Library Trustees 28 Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Free Library Commission Events & Meetings Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Association Meter mail slogans Eratus Swift Wilcox Middleton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum National Bookmobile Day Superior Carnegie Libraries J. D. Witter library legislation Louise S. Robbins Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Madison Public Library 10 Pinback buttons Capitol Fire 1904 Brown Deer Public Library Marketing-Publicity Rusk County Community Library Historical Register Tower Hill Wisconsin 20 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Woman's Congress Amer hall of State Law Library ca campaign caly film Anniversaries Manitowoc Public Library John Miller Chancellor WWI Library War Service background Hall of Fame 2010 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Academic Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2008 People James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2012 Lutie Eugenia Stearns School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Anniversaries Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library 23 Clinton Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Orrilla Blackshear Library History School libraries WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane books-by-mail WLA 125 Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2016 Hall DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide library education James Duane Doty Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin State Law Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Carl Spitzweg Postcards Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Bernard Schwab 24 Lutie Stearns bookworm Library Systems Library Buidlings caly film Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2017 Hall fo Fame 2012 Larry T. Nix 14 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WAAL Edward Asahel Birge Campaign 22 Increase A. Lapham Special libraries Postcards library exhibit Nolan I. Neds presentations World War I Wisconsin Historical Society I Love Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Delia Ovitz Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Portage Public Library Library e Pewaukee Public Library Ice Storm Soughton Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Library celebrations Beloit Public Library Milwaukee Public Library trav WLA 125 21 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Uncategorized American Library Association Brown County Library Ruth Ann Montgomery S. Janice Kee Buttons

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo