Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries

Rachel Katherine Schenk (1899-1973)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Rachel SchenkRachel Katherine Schenk served as Director of the Wisconsin Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies of the University of Wisconsin – Madison) from 1951 to 1963. Prior to becoming Director she was a faculty member at the school. While Director she was responsible for the implementation of the master’s program at the library school. After her retirement from the Madison library school she helped implement the library science program at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee. She received the WLA Citation of Merit in 1960.  She was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Robbins, Louise S. "Chapter 4 Leave It to Rachel: The Schenk Years 1951-1963" in Tradition and Vision: Library and Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin, A Centennial History (Univ. of Wisconsin, 2006).


Popular Tags

state historical society 14 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WHCLIS 21 Postcards Library Trustees Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign Library Systems background Milwaukee Public Library caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Bookmobile Day Library people WLA 125 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2015 Larry T. Nix World War I caly film Library Artifacts WAAL Gertrude Thurow Special libraries Historical Register Meter mail slogans Milwaukee Art Museum Delia Ovitz Beloit Public Library Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Historical Society Parcel post WLA 125 Uncategorized Marketing-Publicity T. B. Scott Free Public Library Anniversaries Rusk County Community Library 23 10 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries library education Buttons Hartford Public Library Appleton Public Library Campaign Woman's Congress Hall fo Fame 2012 Frank Avery Hutchins John Miller Chancellor Brown Deer Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Lutie Stearns Suring Area Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg anniversaries Campaign DeForest Area Public Library campaign Beaver Dam Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Jane K. Billings Zona Gale Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Brown County Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Public library systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carnegie libraries National Library Week Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Library e WLA 125 Cornelia Marving Pierce Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Increase A. Lapham campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 27 Matthew S. Dudgeon Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Council on Library and Network Development Clinton Public Library Library People Eratus Swift Wilcox Manitowoc Public Library archives Carl Spitzweg Sarah Janice Kee Evansville Wisconsin hall of Irene W. Newman William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2010 Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Academic Libraries Events & Meetings library legislation traveling libraries Cam Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Events & Meetings Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Eugenia Stearns books-by-mail Pewaukee Public Library Academic Librarians Amer UW-Milwaukee Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Postcards Library celebrations trav 20 School libraries American Library Association Library War Service Dianne McAfee Hopkins S. Janice Kee 11 Hall of Fame 2016 Orrilla Blackshear 24 CCBC Capitol Fire 1904 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin State Law Library Exhibits Superior Carnegie Libraries Richard E. Krug 28 Middleton Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Digital Collections Postcards Centennial Events Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Dorothea M. Krause Madison Public Library Library people Postcards Hall Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library James Huff Stout 22 James Duane Doty membership libraries campa WWI Library War Service presentations Wisconsin Library Association Ripon Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2008 Black River Falls Public Library I Love Libraries Peter G. Hamon buil Hall of Fame 2011 Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2013 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart J. D. Witter campaign Library History Eager Free Public Library library memorabilia School of Library and Information Studies COLAND Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library Buidlings Portage Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Jerome P. Daniels State Law Library bookworm caly film Gerald A. Somers Anniversaries People Katharine MacDonald Jones Pinback buttons Elroy Public Library Ice Storm Publications Edward Asahel Birge Gilbert H. Doane WLA 125 Black River Falls Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2014 Klaus Linderfelt cam Hall of Fame 2012 Library Buildings American Library Association bed and breakfast library exhibit Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Oshkosh Public Library ca Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo