Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged buil

Milwaukee Public Library Postcards

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, August 12, 2009
in Library buildings


As might be expected, there is a direct correlation between the grandeur of a library building and the number of postcards that have depicted the library building. So it is not surprising that the Central Library of the Milwaukee Public Library which was completed in 1898 is depicted on a great many picture postcards. In my personal collection, I have over 20 different Milwaukee Public Library postcards. The year 1898 is significant in the world of postcards since this is the year that Congress authorized Private Mailing Cards that could be mailed at the one cent rate. Previously postcards required postage of two cents. This was the beginning of what is considered to be the golden age of picture postcards which lasted until the beginning of World War I.  There is nothing special about the view of the Milwaukee Public Library on the postcard which is shown above. However, the address side of the postcard shows that this card was carried on the LZ127 Zeppelin air ship from Lakehurst, N. J. to Friedrichshafen, Germany and back. This make the postcard very special to philatelist who collect mail that has been flown on Zeppelins. The postcard below is an unusual double postcard which is twice the size of a standard postcard.





Popular Tags

Library History William J. Wilson Rusk County Community Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Matthew S. Dudgeon Historical Register Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Rapids Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Ice Storm Appleton Public Library Portage Public Library J. D. Witter Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign Anniversaries campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Meter mail slogans Wisconsin Library Association National Library Week 10 WLA 125 Exhibits Lutie Stearns Library Buildings Cornelia Marving Pierce Inform Wisconsin Katharine MacDonald Jones Events Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee CCBC White House Conference on Library and Information Services I Love Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Gilbert H. Doane library memorabilia T. B. Scott Free Public Library Library people membership libraries Special libraries Gerald A. Somers WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 27 state historical society Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Irene W. Newman Publications Postcards Jane K. Billings Events & Meetings Black River Falls Public Library WWI Library War Service Milwaukee Public Library cam School of Library and Information Studies Klaus Linderfelt WAAL Soughton Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Library Systems Milwaukee Public Library Buttons Hall of Fame 2012 trav bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Duane Doty Black River Falls 21 Suring Area Public Library Postcards 24 Ruth Ann Montgomery Brown Deer Public Library Public libraries Marketing-Publicity Larry T. Nix Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 anniversaries 22 Public libraries Eager Free Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Elroy Public Library Campaign WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Bookmobiles Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Beaver Dam Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 28 Eratus Swift Wilcox 11 background Orrilla Blackshear Delia Ovitz Centennial Hall of Fame 2008 Postcards S. Janice Kee ca campaign World War I Wisconsin State Law Library 14 caly film Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Public library systems Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2013 Cooperative Children's Book Center Uncategorized Wisconsin Historical Society National Bookmobile Day Nolan I. Neds campaign Edward Asahel Birge Digital Collections Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Academic Librarians library exhibit presentations 23 Increase A. Lapham Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Library Buidlings Campaign Library People COLAND Brown County Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Oshkosh Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Bernard Schwab Ripon Public Library Gertrude Thurow Hall Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2010 Library people Postcards Dianne McAfee Hopkins books-by-mail caly film archives People Hall of Fame 2011 Richard E. Krug Library Trustees Woman's Congress School libraries Carnegie libraries Dorothea M. Krause library education Hall fo Fame 2012 DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Cam Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Events & Meetings traveling libraries Peter G. Hamon Superior Carnegie Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Clinton Public Library Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center library legislation WHCLIS Council on Library and Network Development James Huff Stout campa Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2016 American Library Association Beloit Public Library Middleton Public Library Charles Bunge Lutie Eugenia Stearns caly film State Law Library WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries John Miller Chancellor Evansville Wisconsin Brown Deer Public Library bed and breakfast Library celebrations Sarah Janice Kee Pinback buttons Jerome P. Daniels hall of buil Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Amer 20 Parcel post Carl Spitzweg

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo