Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52
Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Brown County Library

Gerald A. Somers, (1921-2003)

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, October 18, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Gerald SomersGerald A. Somers served as Director of the Green Bay Public Library (later the Brown County Library) from 1961 to 1987. He played a leadership role in the development of legislation that established Wisconsin’s public library systems. Somers was President of WLA in 1965-1966, and was WLA Librarian of the Year in 1972. He was instrumental in establishing the Brown County Library, the first consolidated county library in the state. Somers served in the U.S. Air Force from 1941 until his discharge in 1945. He later attended Knox College and the University of Chicago where he earned a Bachelor of Library Science Degree in 1948. Somers was employed as a Director of the Norris Branch of the Milwaukee Public Library from 1950-1956; Director of the Eau Claire Public Library from 1956-1961; Director of Kellogg Public Library in Green Bay from 1961-1968, and the Brown County Library from 1968 until his retirement in 1987. Somers was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


Popular Tags

James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2018 Library e Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls State Law Library William J. Wilson Beaver Dam Public Library Library Buidlings Orrilla Blackshear caly film Suring Area Public Library Postcards Charles Bunge Cooperative Children's Book Center Centennial Library Artifacts Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Brown Deer Public Library Buttons library legislation National Library Week Hall of Fame 2017 John J. Jax Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Free Library Commission John Miller Chancellor Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Portage Public Library 27 Library people WAAL archives Larry T. Nix Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Events & Meetings Evansville Wisconsin bookworm cam Brown County Library Lucy E. Smith Morris campa Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2010 Pinback buttons Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2012 Events Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Hartford Public Library Zona Gale Lutie Stearns Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2016 library exhibit 22 American Library Association Library War Service Marjorie Sornson Malmberg caly film 28 Cornelia Marving Pierce White House Conference on Library and Information Services campaign Oshkosh Public Library bed and breakfast Hall fo Fame 2012 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Exhibits Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Matthew S. Dudgeon Uncategorized Frank Avery Hutchins Publications Pewaukee Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns books-by-mail Inform Wisconsin Public libraries Library People Jerome P. Daniels Ripon Public Library Lowell W. Wilson 21 anniversaries Academic Libraries 23 Edward Asahel Birge Beloit Public Library Carnegie libraries Klaus Linderfelt Special libraries Gerald A. Somers Sandra Friedman Dolnick 24 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Clarence Brown Lester UW-Madison school of library and information studies Jane K. Billings Historical Register J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Brown Deer Public Library Bob Bochfer Irene W. Newman Anniversaries American Library Association Library Systems Library people Postcards Ice Storm I Love Libraries Clinton Public Library Dorothea M. Krause library memorabilia state historical society WLA 125 Events & Meetings Public library systems Campaign Woman's Congress Peter G. Hamon traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2015 trav Wisconsin State Law Library Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Increase A. Lapham World War I Campaign WLA 125 Bernard Schwab Appleton Public Library 10 Meter mail slogans Madison Public Library Delia Ovitz Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wayne A. Wiegand Milwaukee Art Museum School libraries National Bookmobile Day Soughton Public Library Public libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends background Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2014 11 Eager Free Public Library Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Capitol Fire 1904 Gertrude Thurow COLAND buil Louise S. Robbins Library History Marketing-Publicity Anniversaries School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2015 Sarah Janice Kee Elroy Public Library Parcel post ca Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries People Hall of Fame 2015 Cam Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2013 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WWI Library War Service Katharine MacDonald Jones Ruby Roeder Ruth Ann Montgomery 14 Wisconsin Rapids Digital Collections Library Buildings presentations campaign James Huff Stout Library Trustees library education Hall of Fame 2012 hall of CCBC Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 membership libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Robert Bocher Library celebrations Hall campaign Amer Campaign UW-Milwaukee Libraries S. Janice Kee Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 20 DeForest Area Public Library Rusk County Community Library Helen Adams Richard E. Krug UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies caly film Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo