Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged books-by-mail

The First Books-By-Mail Program in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 01, 2016
in WLA 125
stamp-us-parcel-72Parcel post, the delivery of packages through the mail, began in the United States on January 1, 1913.  Libraries had long lobbied for a special rate for library materials sent through the mail, and in 1914 the postmaster general authorized the shipment of books at the parcel post rate. This decision opened up significant possibilities for library service to geographically remote populations.  One of the first librarians to realize the potential of parcel post and library service was Matthew S. Dudgeon, the Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC). Under Dudgeon's leadership the WFLC began implementing a system in which any resident of the state could request a book from the major libraries in Madison including the University of Wisconsin Library and the State Historical Society Library. There was little red tape involved. All that was required was a letter requesting a book along with the postage. Under the new postal rates a book could be sent anywhere within a 150 mile radius of Madison for an average of six cents and for greater distances for eight cents. Implementation of this system was facilitated by the fact that the President of the University of Wisconsin and the Secretary of the Wisconsin Historical Society served on the WFLC board. An article about Dudgeon's parcel post system appeared in the December, 1915 issue of American Review of Reviews.


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 archives trav 10 Uncategorized Library Trustees American Library Association state historical society Gerald A. Somers Evansville Wisconsin Academic Libraries Public libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2016 Rusk County Community Library Campaign Ruby Roeder Publications Public library systems Brown County Library Dorothea M. Krause Elroy Public Library cam Matthew S. Dudgeon Klaus Linderfelt School of Library and Information Studies Inform Wisconsin buil Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Louise S. Robbins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association James Duane Doty Wisconsin Free Library Commission Gilbert H. Doane campaign caly film Library Buildings Woman's Congress John J. Jax Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Cam I Love Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries library exhibit Campaign Hall of Fame 2018 Postcards Ripon Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings traveling libraries Zona Gale Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Sarah Janice Kee Bookmobiles 22 Hall of Fame 2012 Library celebrations John Miller Chancellor ca Pewaukee Public Library 21 Exhibits Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 Oshkosh Public Library Historical Register Digital Collections Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Frank Avery Hutchins Hartford Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies World War I Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Cooperative Children's Book Center Library people books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Bulletin Sandra Friedman Dolnick Buttons Library e Wisconsin State Law Library American Library Association Library War Service Lutie Stearns Carnegie libraries Anniversaries COLAND Hall of Fame 2017 23 Dianne McAfee Hopkins caly film WWI Library War Service 14 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Eager Free Public Library Increase A. Lapham 11 Katharine MacDonald Jones Ruth Ann Montgomery Black River Falls Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Parcel post anniversaries Academic Librarians Events Carl Spitzweg WLA 125 State Law Library National Bookmobile Day Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 library memorabilia Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2010 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 28 Library Systems William J. Wilson White House Conference on Library and Information Services Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Helen Adams Brown Deer Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris UW-Madison school of library and information studies Centennial Edward Asahel Birge Orrilla Blackshear Irene W. Newman Events & Meetings 27 S. Janice Kee Bob Bochfer Black River Falls Jerome P. Daniels Charles Bunge School libraries Beloit Public Library Library people Postcards Library Buidlings campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Special libraries campaign Madison Public Library library education Hall of Fame 2011 hall of Library People presentations Amer campa Meter mail slogans Marketing-Publicity T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2013 Cornelia Marving Pierce bookworm WAAL Wayne A. Wiegand McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2009 Tower Hill Wisconsin People Delia Ovitz CCBC Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Campaign library legislation Clarence Brown Lester Richard E. Krug Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Library History Appleton Public Library Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Postcards Jane K. Billings 20 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Ice Storm Bernard Schwab membership libraries Pinback buttons Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall Portage Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clinton Public Library WLA 125 James Huff Stout Larry T. Nix WLA 125 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Public libraries WLA 125 24 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Milwaukee Public Library caly film Anniversaries National Library Week WHCLIS background bed and breakfast Robert Bocher

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo