Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Black River Falls

Origin of Wisconsin's Public Library Law (WLA 125)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
in WLA 125
erastus-swift-willcoxWisconsin's original public library law was introduced as Assembly Bill no. 87, 1872 on January 26, 1872 by Assemblyman Alexander Graham of Janesville, Wisconsin. It was approved by the Governor on March 22, 1872. The  Graham Bill was remarkably similar to a bill introduced in the Illinois Legislature on March 23, 1871 and signed into law on March 7, 1872.  So similar, in fact, that there is little doubt that Wisconsin's public library law was based on the one in Illinois.  A key provision is almost identical: "Every library and reading-room established under this act, shall be forever free to the use of the inhabitants of the city or village where located, always subject to such reasonable rules and regulations as the library board may find necessary to adopt and publish ...".
Erastus Swift Willcox (pictured above), while librarian of the Peoria Mercantile Library, a forerunner of the Peoria Public Library, conceived the public library law that was substantially enacted by both Illinois and Wisconsin in 1872 and which was a model for a number of other states. Although New Hampshire adopted a state public library law in 1849, a solid case has been made that Willcox's public library law was the first comprehensive state public library law. Willcox realized that the fees charged by mercantile libraries and other membership libraries were not only inadequate for funding library service but that they were significant barriers to library use by the general public. Little is known of Alexander Graham's motivation for introducing the Wisconsin law or the specifics of how he became aware of the Illinois bill. He was, however, a member of the Janesville Young Men's Association, a membership library which experienced some of the same challenges as those of the Peoria Mercantile Library. A major motivating factor in the passage of the Illinois law was the movement to create a public library for the City of Chicago. The City of Chicago passed an ordinance under the new act creating the Chicago Public Library on April 1, 1872. The Black River Falls Public Library was the first public library created under Wisconsin's public library law of 1872.
Originally posted on June 19, 2009


Popular Tags

Exhibits Gerald A. Somers Edward Asahel Birge 11 Clinton Public Library WLA 125 Black River Falls Public Library archives campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Black River Falls I Love Libraries Marketing-Publicity Events & Meetings Eratus Swift Wilcox Sandra Friedman Dolnick Middleton Public Library Bookmobiles Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide White House Conference on Library and Information Services WAAL Hall of Fame 2012 books-by-mail James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2018 Events & Meetings caly film Library History Academic Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Orrilla Blackshear Campaign Buttons traveling libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission UW-Milwaukee Libraries Inform Wisconsin 24 21 Lowell W. Wilson Anniversaries People Postcards Charles Bunge McMillan Memorial Library Bernard Schwab Lucy E. Smith Morris American Library Association library memorabilia library legislation Library Buidlings caly film buil Cam Library Systems Public libraries library education presentations Carnegie libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Library celebrations library exhibit Richard E. Krug Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wilbur Lyle Eberhart John J. Jax WLA 125 Wisconsin State Law Library Public libraries hall of Dianne McAfee Hopkins Tower Hill Wisconsin Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends campa John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2008 Sarah Janice Kee T. B. Scott Free Public Library Parcel post S. Janice Kee National Library Week James Duane Doty membership libraries campaign Larry T. Nix Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library State Law Library Capitol Fire 1904 Hall 20 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gertrude Thurow UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 William J. Wilson Digital Collections Ripon Public Library bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand WLA 125 Beaver Dam Public Library WLA 125 trav cam Eager Free Public Library Evansville Wisconsin campaign Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Brown County Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Frank Avery Hutchins Woman's Congress WWI Library War Service COLAND J. D. Witter Pinback buttons Clarence Brown Lester Manitowoc Public Library WHCLIS Pewaukee Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Academic Librarians DeForest Area Public Library Meter mail slogans background Public library systems Campaign Delia Ovitz Katharine MacDonald Jones Library people Postcards 10 Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2013 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Trustees Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Helen Adams Madison Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Gilbert H. Doane Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2012 School of Library and Information Studies Centennial Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Dorothea M. Krause Library e Publications Milwaukee Art Museum Brown Deer Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Library Bulletin Historical Register Library people Milwaukee Public Library Nolan I. Neds Postcards Hall of Fame 2018 Lutie Stearns Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 23 Amer Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 14 Bob Bochfer Brown Deer Public Library Louise S. Robbins ca Oshkosh Public Library Library Artifacts Milwaukee Public Library 27 Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2010 Library Buildings Uncategorized Ruth Ann Montgomery Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2014 Jerome P. Daniels Suring Area Public Library Council on Library and Network Development bookworm CCBC Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Ice Storm state historical society Soughton Public Library National Bookmobile Day 22 caly film Irene W. Newman Matthew S. Dudgeon Klaus Linderfelt Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 Carl Spitzweg Zona Gale Elroy Public Library 28 School libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission World War I American Library Association Library War Service anniversaries Hall of Fame 2009 Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 Events Special libraries Anniversaries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo