Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52
Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Beaver Dam Public Library

Frank Avery Hutchins (1851-1914)

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, December 04, 2008
in Hall of Fame

hutchins-72.jpgFrank Avery Hutchins was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2008. Hutchins was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891.  He served as President of WLA from 1894 to 1897.  As President of WLA he was instrumental in starting the Summer School for Library Economy in 1895 which became the Wisconsin Library School in 1906.  He helped establish the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1895 and was its initial Chair until 1897.  In 1897 with the reorganization and increased funding of the WFLC he became its first paid Secretary, a post he held until 1904.  He originated the idea of the Wisconsin Legislative Reference Library which became a unit of the WFLC and served as a national model.  He was a national leader in public library development and extension.  Helen Lyman in the Dictionary of American Library Biography entry for Hutchins said, “He belongs to that small group of men and women who formed and developed the modern library movement and made the library profession what it has become.” Hutchins became interested in libraries while serving as editor of the weekly newspaper, the Beaver Dam Argus.  He helped organize the Beaver Dam Free Library Association which was established in 1884. He was featured in the "As it Was in The Beginning" series of the Public Libraries magazine (1925, volume 30, pages186-190).   He is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . The image of Hutchins is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 29375.



Popular Tags

Library e Eager Free Public Library Library Buildings Library History UW-Madison school of library and information studies Richard E. Krug Publications Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs campaign Postcards Bookmobiles School libraries State Law Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Gerald A. Somers Black River Falls Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film WHCLIS James Huff Stout Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Milwaukee Public Library Ice Storm campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Louise S. Robbins Middleton Public Library bookworm WLA 125 Amer James Duane Doty People Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2012 Elroy Public Library Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2017 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Historical Society 24 trav library exhibit Library Trustees Centennial Marketing-Publicity 22 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2010 Clinton Public Library Cam cam Peter G. Hamon Superior Carnegie Libraries Postcards campaign Helen Adams Library Systems Gilbert H. Doane 10 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Exhibits background Campaign Buttons Milwaukee Art Museum Council on Library and Network Development Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends library legislation School of Library and Information Studies 14 Frank Avery Hutchins American Library Association Library War Service Lutie Stearns campa Suring Area Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Jane K. Billings Pewaukee Public Library Charles Bunge archives Uncategorized Nolan I. Neds Meter mail slogans Bernard Schwab books-by-mail Cornelia Marving Pierce Library People S. Janice Kee Larry T. Nix Hall of Fame 2015 20 11 27 library memorabilia Milwaukee Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Gertrude Thurow I Love Libraries Events & Meetings Pinback buttons Sandra Friedman Dolnick Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library WLA 125 Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2013 23 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Portage Public Library John Miller Chancellor Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 anniversaries Brown Deer Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Lowell W. Wilson Rusk County Community Library Clarence Brown Lester Delia Ovitz caly film Anniversaries Events Postcards Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart hall of Wisconsin Library Association McMillan Memorial Library Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Wayne A. Wiegand Parcel post Cooperative Children's Book Center Library people Postcards WAAL Appleton Public Library National Bookmobile Day Lucy E. Smith Morris Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sarah Janice Kee White House Conference on Library and Information Services Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2008 Academic Librarians WWI Library War Service DeForest Area Public Library Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Edward Asahel Birge Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2018 Library people Oshkosh Public Library Madison Public Library bed and breakfast Public libraries caly film library education Public libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery J. D. Witter ca traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2011 presentations WLA 125 Woman's Congress state historical society Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Library celebrations membership libraries Historical Register American Library Association Special libraries Brown County Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide World War I National Library Week Campaign Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carnegie libraries CCBC Wisconsin Free Library Commission Capitol Fire 1904 Ruby Roeder Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2009 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians buil COLAND Eratus Swift Wilcox Orrilla Blackshear 21 Beloit Public Library 28 Library Buidlings Katharine MacDonald Jones Library Artifacts WLA 125 Jerome P. Daniels Digital Collections Inform Wisconsin John J. Jax William J. Wilson Soughton Public Library Public library systems

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo