Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Appleton Public Library

Some Libraries Sharing Municipal Facilities

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
in Library buildings
Appleton Public Library
In the previous blog post I discussed some newly completed “stand alone” library buildings in Wisconsin in 1904.  Libraries, however, often shared a facility with another part of municipal government. This often preceded a separate library building. For smaller communities this was more common.  One example of a larger community where this occurred is the public library in Appleton, WI (see postcard above). Appleton dedicated a new municipal building in 1900. The public library occupied the first floor of the building and the City Hall was located on the second floor. This arrangement continued until 1939 when the City Hall moved out of the building, and the library occupied the entire building. 
Clinton Public Library
The Clinton Public Library (above)shared a building with the city hall and the fire department. The library was located on the left side of the building and the fire department on the right side with the City Hall in the middle. Note the fire lookout tower behind the fire station.
Portage Public Library
The Portage Public Library (above) shared a building with the armory (for Company F) and the city hall. The library was on the left, the armory in the middle, and the city hall on the right.
Stoughton Public LibraryThe Stoughton Public Library shared a building with the city hall and an opera house. 
These are only a few examples of public libraries that shared a municipal facility.


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2011 State Law Library Campaign Library Buidlings Lowell W. Wilson Charles Bunge Peter G. Hamon membership libraries campaign Historical Register 14 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Suring Area Public Library National Bookmobile Day Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2012 Beaver Dam Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Academic Librarians Edward Asahel Birge School of Library and Information Studies anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Library Artifacts Ripon Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Wayne A. Wiegand American Library Association Hartford Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon DeForest Area Public Library Carl Spitzweg Postcards Orrilla Blackshear McMillan Memorial Library WWI Library War Service Library celebrations Wisconsin Library Association Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 21 Clinton Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries School libraries WAAL Pewaukee Public Library campaign Council on Library and Network Development UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Tower Hill Wisconsin Bernard Schwab Public libraries presentations 10 Gilbert H. Doane Buttons Gerald A. Somers Anniversaries Capitol Fire 1904 hall of caly film Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library History 11 National Library Week Cam Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Black River Falls Clarence Brown Lester Middleton Public Library Library People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives Library Buildings 23 Superior Carnegie Libraries Events Hall of Fame 2012 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2013 Evansville Wisconsin Carnegie libraries Gertrude Thurow Ruby Roeder Publications Frank Avery Hutchins Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 World War I Jane K. Billings WHCLIS campaign Black River Falls Public Library 20 Campaign Hall bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Special libraries library exhibit Amer Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Louise S. Robbins Wisconsin Free Library Commission Klaus Linderfelt buil Hall of Fame 2016 library memorabilia William J. Wilson trav Hall of Fame 2015 Manitowoc Public Library Eager Free Public Library Exhibits Ruth Ann Montgomery Cooperative Children's Book Center Madison Public Library James Huff Stout Campaign Bookmobiles Soughton Public Library Events & Meetings caly film Increase A. Lapham WLA 125 Library Systems cam Wisconsin Rapids Larry T. Nix Hall fo Fame 2012 bed and breakfast Elroy Public Library Woman's Congress Milwaukee Public Library Library Trustees Brown County Library Events & Meetings library education COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John Miller Chancellor Meter mail slogans Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin 27 Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Historical Society Appleton Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2009 Centennial J. D. Witter American Library Association Library War Service Digital Collections WLA 125 library legislation Library people Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2015 24 Ice Storm I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 S. Janice Kee Nolan I. Neds Inform Wisconsin campa Sarah Janice Kee Richard E. Krug background Portage Public Library Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2017 books-by-mail Wisconsin State Law Library James Duane Doty Wisconsin Free Library Commission Cornelia Marving Pierce Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Postcards Eratus Swift Wilcox People Hall of Fame 2010 WLA 125 Oshkosh Public Library Academic Libraries Library e Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 28 Katharine MacDonald Jones state historical society Jerome P. Daniels caly film Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library traveling libraries John J. Jax Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Public libraries Irene W. Newman Milwaukee Art Museum Brown Deer Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies 22 Public library systems CCBC Library people Postcards WLA 125 Uncategorized ca Pinback buttons Marketing-Publicity Parcel post Lutie Eugenia Stearns

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo