Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Amer

ALA Meets in Waukesha in 1901

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
in WLA 125
ala-waukesha-medal-72The American Library Association held its second conference in Wisconsin in Waukesha, WI in July of 1901 (the first was held in Milwaukee in 1886). As reported in the magazine Public Libraries: "The twenty-third annual meeting of the A. L. A. was held at Waukesha, Wis., with an enthusiasm and interest that has not been equaled more than two or three times in the history of the association."  The conference was held at the Fountain Spring House, Waukesha's premier resort (see postcard above). The Public Libraries article concluded: "A large majority of the people present attended their first conference of American librarians at Waukesha, and the interest, enthusiasm, and evident progress made at this meeting is due largely to that fact.  For months the local associations in the middle west were at work to interest the librarians of their different states in the importance of being present at Waukesha.  Their efforts were successful, and there was but one note sounded in regard to the meeting, and that was satisfaction."  One day of the conference was designated as “Madison Day” and conference attendees made the trip to Madison to see the new combined building of the Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin Library. More about that in a later post.
At early ALA Conferences, mementos were routinely given to participants. At the Waukesha conference, the attendees were given an elaborate medal and a book about Shakespeare. The image of the medal (at left above) is courtesy of the American Library Association Archives which has several examples in its collection. The book (see below) Shakespeare the Man by Walter Bagehot was published by McClure Phillips and Company of New York and 450 of the 1,000 copies published were designated specifically for distribution at the ALA conference.
book-ala-waukesha-72 wla125logo-small
Recent comment in this post Show all comments
  • Ginny Moore Kruse says #
    What a treat it was to read about this ALA conference in Wisconsin. The event described strikes me as quaint, but it also seems so...


Popular Tags

Increase A. Lapham WAAL Black River Falls Public Library World War I State Law Library WLA 125 Frank Avery Hutchins Superior Carnegie Libraries Beloit Public Library School of Library and Information Studies cam Ice Storm WLA 125 Library people Postcards Dorothea M. Krause I Love Libraries Postcards Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 21 Digital Collections Exhibits White House Conference on Library and Information Services Library History library exhibit Suring Area Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Public libraries caly film Manitowoc Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee trav Katharine MacDonald Jones caly film DeForest Area Public Library Clinton Public Library state historical society John J. Jax campa COLAND American Library Association Library War Service WHCLIS Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2016 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign Wisconsin Library Association Peter G. Hamon American Library Association People Delia Ovitz Beaver Dam Public Library Gerald A. Somers Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Milwaukee Art Museum Hall fo Fame 2012 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Oshkosh Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Soughton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear campaign Parcel post McMillan Memorial Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Dianne McAfee Hopkins Irene W. Newman hall of Wisconsin Library Bulletin Richard E. Krug Marketing-Publicity Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 Middleton Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2012 bookworm 10 Hall of Fame 2014 background Milwaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2009 CCBC WWI Library War Service Publications Cooperative Children's Book Center National Library Week Lutie Eugenia Stearns archives Edward Asahel Birge Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Zona Gale Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Academic Librarians Library people Gilbert H. Doane Hartford Public Library Centennial Library Buildings Historical Register 28 Brown Deer Public Library Larry T. Nix Gertrude Thurow James Duane Doty Black River Falls Anniversaries J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 23 Charles Bunge Academic Libraries buil Lutie Stearns Carnegie libraries Library Trustees Library celebrations Campaign Pinback buttons Evansville Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Public library systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Council on Library and Network Development Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 library memorabilia Amer James Huff Stout membership libraries Appleton Public Library Ruby Roeder Library e library legislation Events Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2017 27 Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Postcards ca Madison Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 22 Inform Wisconsin anniversaries Cornelia Marving Pierce Postcards 20 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 11 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Special libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon William J. Wilson Buttons Eager Free Public Library 14 Wisconsin Historical Society Events & Meetings Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2012 library education campaign Rusk County Community Library Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2008 Cam books-by-mail Woman's Congress Library Artifacts Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries presentations John Miller Chancellor Nolan I. Neds Brown County Library Sarah Janice Kee Klaus Linderfelt Events & Meetings Clarence Brown Lester Meter mail slogans Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Portage Public Library Bookmobiles Library Systems Ripon Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2015 Tower Hill Wisconsin National Bookmobile Day Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Free Library Commission Jane K. Billings UW-Milwaukee Libraries S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 24 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Bernard Schwab Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Free Library Commission traveling libraries Campaign caly film

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo