Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Academic Librarians

Academic Libraries & WLA

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, April 20, 2016
in WLA 125
The Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries (WAAL), one of the divisions of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA), is holding its spring conference this week at the Heidel House in Green Lake.  After its founding in 1891 the focus of WLA was primarily public library service. However, academic librarians participated in the Association from its beginning. Walter M. Smith, Librarian of the University of Wisconsin in Madison, was the first academic librarian elected president of WLA (1908). In 1954 the College and University Section, the predecessor of WAAL, was established in WLA. H. Vail Deale was one of the founders of the College and University Section and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  A complete history of WAAL can be found HERE.


Popular Tags

Middleton Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Beloit Public Library caly film Charles Bunge Eratus Swift Wilcox Centennial Anniversaries Library Buidlings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin campaign Events & Meetings campaign ca Digital Collections Lutie Eugenia Stearns Ripon Public Library Postcards Increase A. Lapham Campaign Gilbert H. Doane books-by-mail Elroy Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Jerome P. Daniels 24 Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Special libraries James Duane Doty I Love Libraries Cam Milwaukee Public Library buil Exhibits Hall of Fame 2015 trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Appleton Public Library 11 Carl Spitzweg Postcards James Huff Stout Zona Gale Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2011 McMillan Memorial Library Library people Postcards John Miller Chancellor Brown County Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Events WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library Larry T. Nix WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Library Artifacts Beaver Dam Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Historical Register Milwaukee Art Museum World War I Library people Publications Meter mail slogans 23 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2010 William J. Wilson Library Buildings cam Cooperative Children's Book Center Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians CCBC Superior Carnegie Libraries 22 10 hall of Peter G. Hamon Suring Area Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Sarah Janice Kee caly film Edward Asahel Birge COLAND membership libraries WWI Library War Service Hall UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Manitowoc Public Library Delia Ovitz Wisconsin Rapids UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2012 traveling libraries bookworm WAAL DeForest Area Public Library library memorabilia 14 presentations T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Campaign American Library Association Carnegie libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Dorothea M. Krause Library Trustees Gertrude Thurow Bernard Schwab Eager Free Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Gerald A. Somers National Library Week School libraries Library Systems 27 Events & Meetings library education WLA 125 Public library systems Nolan I. Neds Rusk County Community Library Public libraries Inform Wisconsin Postcards caly film Buttons Public libraries Uncategorized People Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation bed and breakfast Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2009 campa Council on Library and Network Development Library e anniversaries 21 state historical society Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2008 Black River Falls Matthew S. Dudgeon archives 28 Jane K. Billings WLA 125 Cornelia Marving Pierce library exhibit Hall of Fame 2015 Soughton Public Library Ice Storm Klaus Linderfelt Pinback buttons 20 Academic Librarians School of Library and Information Studies Richard E. Krug Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library History State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Parcel post Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library WHCLIS Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2012 Clinton Public Library Woman's Congress Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Brown Deer Public Library National Bookmobile Day Amer Academic Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library celebrations Hartford Public Library S. Janice Kee Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Library People background Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries American Library Association Library War Service Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin Library Bulletin Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2014 Irene W. Newman Orrilla Blackshear Katharine MacDonald Jones

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo