Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Zona Gale (1874-1938)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, October 21, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Zona GaleZona Gale, a Portage (WI) native and Pulitzer Prize winning author, was a lifelong friend and champion of Wisconsin's libraries. She used her celebrity to promote libraries wherever possible. She was a member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (1921-1932) and served as its Chair in 1921-1924 and 1926-1929. She also served as a member of the University of Wisconsin Board of Regents. She won the Pulitzer Prize for drama in 1921 for her play "Miss LuLu Bett". Her home was donated to the City of Portage in 1946 to house the Portage Public Library. She is a member of the Wisconsin Writers Hall of Fame. She received both a Bachelor's degree and a Master's degree from the University of Wisconsin - Madison. Gale was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Photo: Wisconsin Historical Society Digital Collection.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, September 18, 2014

Popular Tags

Postcards National Bookmobile Day Evansville Wisconsin Library Systems Beaver Dam Public Library Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2012 Exhibits Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Cornelia Marving Pierce Hartford Public Library Library Artifacts Anniversaries Library celebrations School libraries Milwaukee Public Library Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Pewaukee Public Library Publications Hall of Fame 2012 Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Uncategorized Elroy Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg Academic Libraries Library people Postcards CCBC T. B. Scott Free Public Library Woman's Congress John Miller Chancellor Middleton Public Library Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins DeForest Area Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Richard E. Krug Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Free Library Commission anniversaries Campaign Sarah Janice Kee campaign S. Janice Kee Hall fo Fame 2012 Oshkosh Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery National Library Week Library Buidlings Library History Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries presentations background hall of Eager Free Public Library Hall Carnegie libraries Library People Wisconsin Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Digital Collections J. D. Witter Madison Public Library Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2014 Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards Events Library Trustees Wisconsin Historical Society American Library Association Library War Service Milwaukee Art Museum Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 campaign Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2010 ca campaign WWI Library War Service cam Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Special libraries Wisconsin Rapids Zona Gale Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Lutie Eugenia Stearns library exhibit archives traveling libraries bed and breakfast Clarence Brown Lester Bernard Schwab McMillan Memorial Library Edward Asahel Birge Campaign Bookmobiles campa library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign Rusk County Community Library Public libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Historical Register People Library Buildings Delia Ovitz Gerald A. Somers buil UW-Milwaukee Libraries Brown County Library School of Library and Information Studies

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Logo