Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart (1922-2010), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014 in Hall of Fame
Lyle EberhartLyle Eberhart was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Eberhart was the first administrator of the Division for Library Services in the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction after the Wisconsin Free Library Commission was abolished. He served in this capacity from 1965 to 1981 which included the period when Wisconsin’s public library system legislation was passed and implemented.He was a founding member of the Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLA), and served as its President (1980-81). He served as President of the Midwest Regional Library Network (1966-67). He was an active contributor to the professional literature of librarianship.
Eberhart was born on May 30, 1922, in Topeka, Kansas. He earned a bachelor’s degree with a joint major in history and English from Washburn College (Topeka) in 1945, followed by graduate study in American history at the University of Wisconsin from 1945 to 1949. He received a master’s degree in library science at the University of Wisconsin in 1951. From 1951 to 1959, he was a librarian at the Detroit Public Library, and was a branch library chief there until 1962. In 1962 he became a public library consultant in the Wisconsin Free Library Commission, a post he held until 1965 when he became administrator of the newly created Division for Library Services, Wisconsin's state library agency.  


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, May 25, 2018


Popular Tags

Council on Library and Network Development McMillan Memorial Library Inform Wisconsin Ice Storm Buttons Nolan I. Neds hall of Matthew S. Dudgeon Anniversaries John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2014 James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2017 Black River Falls ca 20 bookworm Public libraries 14 Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2009 trav Hall of Fame 2015 caly film Jane K. Billings Postcards Jerome P. Daniels Events 27 Postcards WLA 125 Campaign American Library Association Library War Service Events & Meetings library education Orrilla Blackshear Uncategorized Oshkosh Public Library Gertrude Thurow Black River Falls Public Library Portage Public Library Clinton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2008 Middleton Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Delia Ovitz Library History Dorothea M. Krause William J. Wilson Cooperative Children's Book Center Manitowoc Public Library Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 24 Library e Ripon Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Public libraries Library Trustees Library Buildings UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Louise S. Robbins 21 Dianne McAfee Hopkins I Love Libraries Centennial Brown Deer Public Library Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 23 Hall of Fame 2013 Pinback buttons National Bookmobile Day Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library World War I Public library systems Hall of Fame 2015 28 People Wisconsin Library Association caly film Madison Public Library Library Buidlings Exhibits Katharine MacDonald Jones Cam White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Soughton Public Library Historical Register School libraries campaign T. B. Scott Free Public Library WLA 125 campaign Brown Deer Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends John Miller Chancellor WAAL American Library Association 11 Suring Area Public Library Charles Bunge Anniversaries books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Woman's Congress COLAND Lowell W. Wilson bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Postcards traveling libraries state historical society Hall of Fame 2011 Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick J. D. Witter Hall fo Fame 2012 Irene W. Newman WWI Library War Service CCBC 10 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2015 State Law Library Increase A. Lapham Edward Asahel Birge Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Carl Spitzweg Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Academic Libraries archives Appleton Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Eratus Swift Wilcox Carnegie libraries Evansville Wisconsin library legislation Library Systems WHCLIS Special libraries library memorabilia Cornelia Marving Pierce S. Janice Kee 22 Ruby Roeder Library People James Huff Stout Ruth Ann Montgomery Gilbert H. Doane Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Artifacts Capitol Fire 1904 Events & Meetings Milwaukee Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services DeForest Area Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hartford Public Library Zona Gale Digital Collections campaign Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin State Law Library Amer Eager Free Public Library Campaign WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown County Library Peter G. Hamon Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries Parcel post presentations library exhibit cam Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Rapids campa Frank Avery Hutchins National Library Week WLA 125 Academic Librarians buil Milwaukee Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Meter mail slogans Library people Bookmobiles Wayne A. Wiegand anniversaries Richard E. Krug Clarence Brown Lester Gerald A. Somers Hall caly film Elroy Public Library background School of Library and Information Studies Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2016 Publications

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo