Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WI Library Hall of Fame Inductees for 2013

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, October 04, 2013 in Hall of Fame

The Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation, has selected four individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2013. They will join thirty-six other individuals who have previously been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The 2013 inductions will take place at the WLA Annual Conference in Green Bay on October 23 at the WLA/WLAF Business Meeting.  The inductees are:  
Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003) Archer served as Director of the Oshkosh Public Library (1958 to 1978) and held a joint appointment as Director of the Winnefox Library System. He was an advocate for intellectual freedom and was named Librarian of the Year by WLA in 1975.

Katharine MacDonald Jones (1866-?) Jones was a national authority on the selection of materials for small public libraries. She joined the staff of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission in 1899, and served as Assistant Secretary of the Commission from 1901 to 1907.

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990) Bernard Schwab served as Director of the Madison Public Library from 1957 to 1981. He was President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1966-67 and was named Librarian of the Year in 1970.

Miriam Downing Tompkins (1892-1954) Tompkins was a national leader in advancing the role of the public library in adult education. She served as Director of the Training Class (1919-1921) and Chief of Adult Education (1923-1929) for the Milwaukee Public Library. 

More extensive coverage of the accomplishments of these four individuals and previous inductees can be found at the Library Hall of Fame website.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, March 27, 2015

Popular Tags

Wisconsin Free Library Commission Uncategorized Anniversaries campaign library memorabilia Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Bulletin Eager Free Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Gerald A. Somers Anniversaries anniversaries Hall of Fame 2011 Brown Deer Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Heritage Center People Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2010 Zona Gale Marketing-Publicity Postcards Elroy Public Library Library Buildings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Bernard Schwab Digital Collections Soughton Public Library Library Systems Madison Public Library hall of Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries American Library Association Library War Service Postcards Cooperative Children's Book Center Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2014 presentations archives Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Carl Spitzweg Oshkosh Public Library Bookmobiles Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries campa Clinton Public Library National Library Week cam Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Library celebrations Historical Register ca background Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends T. B. Scott Free Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Campaign Campaign Library People bookworm School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2008 Cornelia Marving Pierce Ice Storm Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee John Miller Chancellor Portage Public Library National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Library Association Brown County Library WWI Library War Service campaign Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Middleton Public Library School libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Exhibits Brown Deer Public Library Beloit Public Library Library Artifacts campaign Pewaukee Public Library Cam J. D. Witter Delia Ovitz Evansville Wisconsin Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2009 Woman's Congress Academic Libraries Events Library Buidlings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Suring Area Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Edward Asahel Birge Library people Milwaukee Public Library Gertrude Thurow Milwaukee Art Museum Ruth Ann Montgomery Manitowoc Public Library Library History Gilbert H. Doane Carnegie libraries library exhibit Hall of Fame 2012 Beaver Dam Public Library Special libraries Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2012 bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Postcards Nolan I. Neds DeForest Area Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends traveling libraries Publications CCBC Appleton Public Library Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 McMillan Memorial Library Hall Hall of Fame 2013 Peter G. Hamon Clarence Brown Lester Richard E. Krug S. Janice Kee Library people Postcards buil

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Logo