Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52

Richard E. Krug (1905 -1983)

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, October 19, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Richard KrugRichard E. Krug served as city librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library from 1941 to 1974. During his long tenure as city librarian he transformed the library system. His accomplishments included construction of a major addition to the central library and a reorganization of the system’s branch libraries. Under his leadership the library began the use of data processing in 1947. As city librarian he strongly defended intellectual freedom. He was instrumental in developing the Charles Allis Art Library. He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1946-1947. He received WLA’s Special Service Award in 1974. The Krug Rare Book Room in the Central Library of the Milwaukee Public Library is named in honor of Krug and his wife Lucile. Krug received both his bachelor's degree (1927) and his law degree (1929) from the University of Wisconsin - Madison. He started as the municipal reference librarian at the Milwaukee Public Library in 1930 and became assistant City librarian in 1939. Krug was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Ring, Daniel F. "Richard Krug: The Bookman as a Librarian" Libraries & Culture, vol. 29, no. 3 (1994: 257-272.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, June 19, 2019


Popular Tags

campa library exhibit Black River Falls 10 James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2018 Delia Ovitz Lutie Stearns Black River Falls Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services state historical society Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Lucy E. Smith Morris Public libraries Exhibits Soughton Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Nolan I. Neds T. B. Scott Free Public Library WAAL Hall of Fame 2008 Historical Register Irene W. Newman caly film Oshkosh Public Library caly film Jane K. Billings Superior Carnegie Libraries National Library Week Amer Edward Asahel Birge Sandra Friedman Dolnick Sarah Janice Kee COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library celebrations Zona Gale Wisconsin Historical Society Charles Bunge Parcel post library legislation Events & Meetings Pewaukee Public Library Academic Libraries Larry T. Nix UW-Madison school of library and information studies Publications School libraries Klaus Linderfelt UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wayne A. Wiegand ca archives Meter mail slogans John Miller Chancellor Madison Public Library WLA 125 Campaign McMillan Memorial Library Appleton Public Library People WHCLIS Gerald A. Somers cam Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hartford Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins WLA 125 Centennial Library e campaign J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2012 Richard E. Krug caly film Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Library People Hall of Fame 2012 bed and breakfast Events WWI Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Cam Hall of Fame 2015 Rusk County Community Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Special libraries Campaign Hall of Fame 2011 DeForest Area Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries books-by-mail Bob Bochfer Library Buildings Library Artifacts William J. Wilson School of Library and Information Studies Inform Wisconsin Gertrude Thurow Anniversaries Ripon Public Library Events & Meetings Academic Librarians Jerome P. Daniels Campaign Buttons 20 24 Council on Library and Network Development Eager Free Public Library bookworm Anniversaries Beaver Dam Public Library Increase A. Lapham Pinback buttons Wisconsin Rapids Carnegie libraries Middleton Public Library Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Library people Postcards Milwaukee Public Library American Library Association S. Janice Kee Helen Adams Hall fo Fame 2012 hall of presentations Portage Public Library 22 I Love Libraries Louise S. Robbins Beloit Public Library Digital Collections Lowell W. Wilson library memorabilia library education campaign CCBC Elroy Public Library Library History Manitowoc Public Library buil Wisconsin Library Association Postcards Milwaukee Art Museum Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Peter G. Hamon Public libraries Hall Eratus Swift Wilcox Marketing-Publicity Lutie Eugenia Stearns 28 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Woman's Congress American Library Association Library War Service Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Public library systems campaign Robert Bocher Ice Storm WLA 125 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Gilbert H. Doane Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2015 Brown County Library trav World War I Wisconsin Free Library Commission Uncategorized anniversaries Frank Avery Hutchins Suring Area Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries 21 Evansville Wisconsin Library Systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 23 11 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Postcards James Huff Stout traveling libraries Milwaukee Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Katharine MacDonald Jones Bookmobiles Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2016 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library people 14 Postcards Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 State Law Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Carl Spitzweg National Bookmobile Day Matthew S. Dudgeon John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2013 Bernard Schwab Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2015 27 Clarence Brown Lester background WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo