Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Rachel Katherine Schenk (1899-1973)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 24, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Rachel SchenkRachel Katherine Schenk served as Director of the Wisconsin Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies of the University of Wisconsin – Madison) from 1951 to 1963. Prior to becoming Director she was a faculty member at the school. While Director she was responsible for the implementation of the master’s program at the library school. After her retirement from the Madison library school she helped implement the library science program at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee. She received the WLA Citation of Merit in 1960.  She was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Robbins, Louise S. "Chapter 4 Leave It to Rachel: The Schenk Years 1951-1963" in Tradition and Vision: Library and Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin, A Centennial History (Univ. of Wisconsin, 2006).


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, October 23, 2014

Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2012 Hartford Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Cooperative Children's Book Center Exhibits Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Rapids Carnegie libraries Special libraries background campa Anniversaries library exhibit WWI Library War Service traveling libraries Library Trustees Public libraries Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2010 cam J. D. Witter Rusk County Community Library Postcards Library Buildings Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2013 Campaign Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library people Postcards Publications Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Library Systems Library History Cornelia Marving Pierce Eager Free Public Library CCBC Sarah Janice Kee Edward Asahel Birge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Postcards Events & Meetings campaign Library people Brown County Library Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 DeForest Area Public Library People Peter G. Hamon presentations Historical Register Campaign S. Janice Kee library memorabilia Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg archives campaign Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2014 Academic Libraries Uncategorized School libraries buil Digital Collections Madison Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Postcards Frank Avery Hutchins Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Art Museum Bookmobiles UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2009 Events National Bookmobile Day bookworm American Library Association Library War Service Elroy Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Middleton Public Library anniversaries Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Library Association Library celebrations Anniversaries ca McMillan Memorial Library Library People Hall fo Fame 2012 Marketing-Publicity Suring Area Public Library hall of Oshkosh Public Library Beloit Public Library Campaign School of Library and Information Studies John Miller Chancellor Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Woman's Congress Wisconsin Historical Society Library Artifacts Delia Ovitz Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall Gertrude Thurow Ruth Ann Montgomery Ice Storm T. B. Scott Free Public Library Zona Gale Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers campaign bed and breakfast Library Buidlings National Library Week

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Logo