Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Nolan I. Neds (1921-2006), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014 in Hall of Fame
Nolan NedsNolan I. Neds was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Neds served as Supervisor of Neighborhood Libraries and Extension and as Deputy City Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library (1965-1982).  He was a champion of library service to the underserved in Milwaukee County, the state, and the nation. He was active in the Wisconsin Library Association and served as President (1970-1971) during a critical period for state library legislation and funding. He implemented an innovative Community Librarian Program at the Milwaukee Public Library.
A native of Columbus, Ohio, Neds graduated from Ohio State University and received a Master’s degree in library science from Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH. During World War II he served in the Army in India and Burma. He joined the Milwaukee Public Library in 1951. He served as a State Chairman of National Library Week. He received the Librarian of the Year award in 1971 from the Bookfellows, Friends of the Milwaukee Public Library. His WLA activities included service on the WLA Scholarship Committee and serving as Local Arrangements Chairperson for WLA Conferences. In an article in the Wisconsin Library Bulletin for Winter 1984 Neds reviewed the extensive outreach activities of the Milwaukee Public Library.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, January 18, 2019


Popular Tags

Helen Adams caly film John J. Jax James Huff Stout Gilbert H. Doane Peter G. Hamon Frank Avery Hutchins Suring Area Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Beaver Dam Public Library library exhibit DeForest Area Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Digital Collections Library History Library People campaign Ripon Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Postcards Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2017 Jerome P. Daniels Carnegie libraries Anniversaries National Bookmobile Day Sarah Janice Kee Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services UW-Milwaukee Libraries Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Free Library Commission Lutie Eugenia Stearns CCBC Eager Free Public Library membership libraries Lowell W. Wilson Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2014 trav ca S. Janice Kee 20 Postcards Brown Deer Public Library Pewaukee Public Library books-by-mail Anniversaries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 campa Cooperative Children's Book Center 21 Madison Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 traveling libraries Middleton Public Library 10 Carl Spitzweg Zona Gale Events & Meetings T. B. Scott Free Public Library archives Eratus Swift Wilcox State Law Library WHCLIS 22 Public libraries Black River Falls library memorabilia Orrilla Blackshear Milwaukee Public Library Brown County Library Parcel post Ice Storm Academic Libraries 24 Hall of Fame 2016 Superior Carnegie Libraries hall of Hartford Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Rusk County Community Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin anniversaries Public library systems Cam Clinton Public Library Events & Meetings Portage Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Milwaukee Public Library American Library Association Library War Service 11 School libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 background I Love Libraries campaign Dorothea M. Krause Exhibits Buttons James Duane Doty Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Publications National Library Week Inform Wisconsin Katharine MacDonald Jones Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Bernard Schwab Campaign Library e Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2018 Black River Falls Public Library Bob Bochfer Milwaukee Art Museum Library Artifacts William J. Wilson Library Systems cam Hall of Fame 2012 Marketing-Publicity Beloit Public Library Robert Bocher Nolan I. Neds Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2018 Postcards Campaign World War I bed and breakfast Historical Register Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2013 Bookmobiles caly film Events Public libraries Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Louise S. Robbins Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2015 School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 Meter mail slogans Postcards bookworm Hall of Fame 2010 Academic Librarians Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Uncategorized UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Lutie Stearns Appleton Public Library Gertrude Thurow WLA 125 Library Trustees 14 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2009 28 Gerald A. Somers John Miller Chancellor Centennial Campaign buil J. D. Witter 27 Manitowoc Public Library American Library Association caly film Special libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins WWI Library War Service Matthew S. Dudgeon Library celebrations WLA 125 Charles Bunge Jane K. Billings WLA 125 presentations Library Buidlings Amer Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery campaign Library Buildings Wisconsin Free Library Commission McMillan Memorial Library Library people Irene W. Newman WLA 125 COLAND Brown Deer Public Library state historical society Klaus Linderfelt People Hall library legislation WAAL Delia Ovitz Ruby Roeder Larry T. Nix Woman's Congress Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 23 library education

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo