Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Miriam Downing Tompkins (1892-1954)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Miriam TompkinsMiriam Downing Tompkins was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Tomkins was a national leader in advancing the role of the public library in adult education. She was a pioneer in library work with labor unions. She served as Director of the Training Class of the Milwaukee Public Library 1919-1921 and Chief of Adult Education 1923-1929. Under her leadership the adult education department of the Milwaukee Public Library provided a national model for adult education in public libraries that included information service, group service, and readers’ advisory service. She later served on the faculties of the library schools at Emory University and Columbia University. She was a delegate to the International Conference on Adult Education in Cambridge, England in 1929. She was born in Kalispell, MT, and received B.A. and M.A. degrees from the University of Wisconsin – Madison. She is included in the Dictionary of American Library Biography


The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, April 26, 2015

Popular Tags

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Rusk County Community Library Library People Beaver Dam Public Library Library Buildings Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2010 WWI Library War Service Anniversaries Tower Hill Wisconsin Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Soughton Public Library library exhibit Library Systems Edward Asahel Birge Hartford Public Library Library Buidlings Historical Register Gertrude Thurow Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Art Museum Bernard Schwab Clarence Brown Lester Brown County Library Ripon Public Library Uncategorized Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Appleton Public Library campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Suring Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library campaign Campaign Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Events Campaign Cam bed and breakfast Katharine MacDonald Jones Oshkosh Public Library campa Woman's Congress Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Public libraries Marketing-Publicity bookworm Hall Library Trustees Library celebrations Beloit Public Library Delia Ovitz background Elroy Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Anniversaries Lutie Eugenia Stearns anniversaries Campaign Postcards Wisconsin Library Association campaign Brown Deer Public Library People National Bookmobile Day ca Hall of Fame 2012 library memorabilia Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Richard E. Krug School libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Zona Gale Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Gilbert H. Doane Carl Spitzweg Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Publications Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends T. B. Scott Free Public Library Peter G. Hamon presentations Special libraries Gerald A. Somers Events & Meetings buil Hall fo Fame 2012 Madison Public Library CCBC Wisconsin Historical Society UW-Milwaukee Libraries Exhibits S. Janice Kee Sarah Janice Kee Nolan I. Neds Postcards Carnegie libraries Academic Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center John Miller Chancellor cam Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2008 McMillan Memorial Library Library people Postcards Library Artifacts traveling libraries Postcards Middleton Public Library J. D. Witter Ruth Ann Montgomery hall of Wisconsin Free Library Commission Ice Storm National Library Week Hall of Fame 2012 Digital Collections DeForest Area Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives Library History

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Logo