Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 07, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Leonard ArcherLeonard B. Archer was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Archer served as Director of the Oshkosh Public Library (1958 to 1978) and held as joint appointment as Director of the Winnefox Library System. He initiated bookmobile service for Winnebago County and was instrumental in establishing the Winnefox Library System. He was an advocate for intellectual freedom and served as chair of the Wisconsin Library Association’s (WLA) Intellectual Freedom Committee (1963-65). He was named Librarian of the Year by WLA in 1975. He was awarded the Chancellor’s Medal for work with the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh in developing a “people’s university” in the public library. After retirement he moved to Middleton, WI in 1978 where he became active with the Middleton Public Library as a member of the library board and the Friends of the Library. He also served on the board of the South Central Library System. Archer was born in Petersburg, VA. He received a BA degree from the University of Richmond and a library degree from Emory University. Prior to coming to Wisconsin he worked in libraries in the District of Columbia, Detroit, MI, Plainfield, VT, and Rutland, VT. Archer was married to Marion Fuller Archer, who was a children's librarian, author, and faculty member at the University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh. Meeting rooms at the Middleton Public Library are named for Leonard Archer and Marion Archer.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, February 02, 2015

Popular Tags

Delia Ovitz Postcards S. Janice Kee Campaign Library people Postcards Events Library Systems Library Trustees ca Madison Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Edward Asahel Birge National Bookmobile Day Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Elroy Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bookmobiles Wisconsin Historical Society Uncategorized Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Public libraries Special libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2008 Anniversaries Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Library Buildings Peter G. Hamon campaign Eager Free Public Library School libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery campa Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends library exhibit Postcards Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 Beaver Dam Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Digital Collections Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 CCBC campaign Sarah Janice Kee Zona Gale Cornelia Marving Pierce Library celebrations Cooperative Children's Book Center traveling libraries Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2012 hall of Library Buidlings Library History Wisconsin Library Association Katharine MacDonald Jones Carnegie libraries background Ice Storm UW-Milwaukee Libraries library memorabilia Richard E. Krug Nolan I. Neds Historical Register Hall of Fame 2014 Suring Area Public Library Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2012 Library Artifacts Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends DeForest Area Public Library Events & Meetings campaign Evansville Wisconsin Bernard Schwab presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Rusk County Community Library John Miller Chancellor Anniversaries School of Library and Information Studies WWI Library War Service McMillan Memorial Library Hall cam Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hartford Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Oshkosh Public Library Gerald A. Somers Publications archives Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Frank Avery Hutchins buil bed and breakfast J. D. Witter People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Library People Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Gertrude Thurow T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 anniversaries National Library Week Campaign Exhibits Library people Marketing-Publicity Beloit Public Library Academic Libraries Gilbert H. Doane bookworm Campaign

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Logo