Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

John Miller Chancellor (1896-1980)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, October 20, 2012 in Hall of Fame

John Miller Chancellor had a distinguished career at the national level where he was an authority and proponent on adult eduction in public libraries. He served as the Adult Education Specialist for the American Library Association from 1934-1942. He resigned from ALA and moved to Wisconsin in 1943 where he became a farmer in Mount Horeb. He was appointed to the Wisconsin Free Library Commission at a critical point in the development of public libraries in Wisconsin. He served on the Commission from 1947-1951 and was its Chair in 1949-1951. He was a major contributor to the publication “The Wisconsin-Wide Library Idea for voluntary Education through Reading” (1948).  On the Commission he defended intellectual freedom during the McCarthy era. He was made an Honorary Member of the American Library Association in 1962. Honorary membership in ALA is conferred on individuals whose contribution to librarianship is "so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service".  Earlier positions included: reference assistant at the New York Public Library; readers advisor at the New Haven (CT) Public Library; and supervising librarian at the U. S. Bureau of Prisons. Chancellor was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012. Chancellor was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, June 23, 2017


Popular Tags

Meter mail slogans Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Carnegie libraries caly film Wisconsin Library Bulletin T. B. Scott Free Public Library Uncategorized Brown County Library Library History Nolan I. Neds Madison Public Library 24 National Bookmobile Day Campaign Library Buidlings Woman's Congress CCBC Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Edward Asahel Birge Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2012 Bookmobiles Library Systems Library People archives Delia Ovitz Frank Avery Hutchins 22 Library celebrations UW-Milwaukee Libraries Events & Meetings Irene W. Newman Portage Public Library School libraries Pewaukee Public Library caly film Black River Falls Council on Library and Network Development cam Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries Ripon Public Library Marketing-Publicity ca WLA 125 Eratus Swift Wilcox J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2010 William J. Wilson Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause Rusk County Community Library library education 20 Hall of Fame 2016 State Law Library Cam School of Library and Information Studies Klaus Linderfelt library memorabilia Exhibits Soughton Public Library Digital Collections Postcards Clarence Brown Lester Middleton Public Library 27 American Library Association Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Eager Free Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Events & Meetings Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign WLA 125 Manitowoc Public Library 10 Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2009 Gerald A. Somers Campaign Parcel post DeForest Area Public Library 11 Academic Libraries Peter G. Hamon World War I Carl Spitzweg Katharine MacDonald Jones Library Buildings WWI Library War Service Clinton Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin State Law Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Zona Gale Pinback buttons caly film WHCLIS Richard E. Krug Capitol Fire 1904 campaign Increase A. Lapham White House Conference on Library and Information Services bed and breakfast Superior Carnegie Libraries Larry T. Nix trav Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2012 McMillan Memorial Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2015 COLAND Wisconsin Free Library Commission 28 Publications buil UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Lutie Stearns Orrilla Blackshear Lutie Eugenia Stearns Brown Deer Public Library Charles Bunge library legislation hall of books-by-mail presentations Library people Postcards Academic Librarians Hartford Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Inform Wisconsin Elroy Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies state historical society Hall of Fame 2015 Bernard Schwab Jane K. Billings Library e Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2014 Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Rapids James Duane Doty Ruth Ann Montgomery Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Library people Evansville Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public library systems Oshkosh Public Library Gilbert H. Doane library exhibit Postcards S. Janice Kee WLA 125 Public libraries I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2013 membership libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Historical Society Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Events Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Special libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Centennial 21 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries Amer National Library Week Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons anniversaries Anniversaries Ice Storm Sarah Janice Kee Brown Deer Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Appleton Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 23 People WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2015 bookworm traveling libraries 14 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Library Association Black River Falls Public Library WAAL Suring Area Public Library Postcards Historical Register campa John Miller Chancellor background James Huff Stout

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo