Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

GERTRUDE THUROW (1906-1993), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014 in Hall of Fame
Gertrude ThurowGertrude Thurow was inducted into the WI Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Thurow served as Director of the La Crosse Public Library (1953-1975) and was instrumental in establishing the predecessors of the Winding Rivers Library System (1965-1975). She served as President of the Wisconsin Library (1955-56). Thurow was honored as WLA Librarian of the Year in 1959, and received WLA’s Special Service Award in1975. At the La Crosse Public Library she helped to  establish an active Friends of the Library organization, and oversaw the construction of a new library building.
Thurow was born in La Crosse, WI in 1906 but moved frequently during her childhood. She received a Bachelors of Library Science degree from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Before becoming a librarian she was a teacher. She worked as a reference librarian in Sheboygan before joining the La Crosse Public Library in November 1943. In June 1953 she became library director of the La Crosse Public Library. The new library building was dedicated on November 5, 1967. She retired on September 30, 1975.
Source: A Gift to La Crosse: A History of the La Crosse Public Library by Anita Taylor Doering and Bill Petersen (La Crosse Public Library, 1997). The photograph of Thurow is courtesy of the La Crosse Public Library.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, September 19, 2018


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Free Library Commission School of Library and Information Studies World War I library memorabilia Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery School libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Ripon Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Middleton Public Library Library Buidlings Elroy Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library DeForest Area Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Library Association Ruby Roeder Gertrude Thurow Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2010 Beaver Dam Public Library caly film Library Buildings Brown Deer Public Library 22 state historical society Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Public libraries Events & Meetings Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 Tower Hill Wisconsin Bernard Schwab Katharine MacDonald Jones cam Jane K. Billings Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Events Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library people National Bookmobile Day Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Zona Gale Oshkosh Public Library Meter mail slogans Carnegie libraries WWI Library War Service American Library Association UW-Milwaukee Libraries Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 People John Miller Chancellor books-by-mail Postcards caly film Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2015 Dorothea M. Krause Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2014 Public libraries Hall Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin anniversaries Buttons Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2009 I Love Libraries Richard E. Krug Library History Milwaukee Public Library Carl Spitzweg Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Artifacts Digital Collections Gilbert H. Doane Marketing-Publicity Clinton Public Library 28 Hall of Fame 2015 Dianne McAfee Hopkins American Library Association Library War Service 11 Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin Library Heritage Center caly film Jerome P. Daniels J. D. Witter McMillan Memorial Library WAAL Centennial 23 James Huff Stout Public library systems Postcards Hall of Fame 2013 Beloit Public Library WLA 125 State Law Library Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Inform Wisconsin WLA 125 Campaign Milwaukee Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Delia Ovitz Amer Pewaukee Public Library Louise S. Robbins COLAND Peter G. Hamon hall of Library celebrations Exhibits Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Rusk County Community Library library education Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Special libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries UW-Madison school of library and information studies James Duane Doty trav Academic Libraries Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2015 S. Janice Kee Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2017 Library Trustees 20 Frank Avery Hutchins Portage Public Library Brown Deer Public Library campaign 14 presentations archives Library e Klaus Linderfelt background Historical Register campa Clarence Brown Lester Sarah Janice Kee Bookmobiles Black River Falls Lowell W. Wilson Increase A. Lapham Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Postcards 24 campaign Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Cam 21 Library People Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Parcel post Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Historical Society Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2012 Woman's Congress Academic Librarians William J. Wilson T. B. Scott Free Public Library buil Ice Storm Library Systems bed and breakfast Publications Nolan I. Neds traveling libraries Charles Bunge Brown County Library CCBC Campaign Irene W. Newman library legislation Matthew S. Dudgeon bookworm 10 Cornelia Marving Pierce Suring Area Public Library membership libraries National Library Week library exhibit 27 Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Postcards Madison Public Library Appleton Public Library Anniversaries ca Marjorie Sornson Malmberg John J. Jax Hall fo Fame 2012 Larry T. Nix Cooperative Children's Book Center White House Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 WHCLIS

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo