Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Gerald A. Somers, (1921-2003)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, October 18, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Gerald SomersGerald A. Somers served as Director of the Green Bay Public Library (later the Brown County Library) from 1961 to 1987. He played a leadership role in the development of legislation that established Wisconsin’s public library systems. Somers was President of WLA in 1965-1966, and was WLA Librarian of the Year in 1972. He was instrumental in establishing the Brown County Library, the first consolidated county library in the state. Somers served in the U.S. Air Force from 1941 until his discharge in 1945. He later attended Knox College and the University of Chicago where he earned a Bachelor of Library Science Degree in 1948. Somers was employed as a Director of the Norris Branch of the Milwaukee Public Library from 1950-1956; Director of the Eau Claire Public Library from 1956-1961; Director of Kellogg Public Library in Green Bay from 1961-1968, and the Brown County Library from 1968 until his retirement in 1987. Somers was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, July 26, 2017


Popular Tags

WLA 125 Buttons trav 11 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Appleton Public Library Brown County Library CCBC Oshkosh Public Library Historical Register Library Systems Delia Ovitz caly film archives Milwaukee Art Museum Cam background Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 24 Richard E. Krug John Miller Chancellor 22 Edward Asahel Birge Gerald A. Somers cam UW-Milwaukee Libraries World War I Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause State Law Library William J. Wilson Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Woman's Congress Ice Storm 20 Academic Librarians 14 McMillan Memorial Library Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2013 Charles Bunge Wisconsin Free Library Commission Clarence Brown Lester Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Public libraries Library people Postcards James Duane Doty WLA 125 Nolan I. Neds Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Zona Gale Bookmobiles Carl Spitzweg Gertrude Thurow Beaver Dam Public Library James Huff Stout Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library Buildings Events & Meetings 28 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee National Library Week Hall of Fame 2012 books-by-mail Brown Deer Public Library Increase A. Lapham Digital Collections Events Library Buidlings Pinback buttons COLAND Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin State Law Library state historical society Library History Inform Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Library Heritage Center DeForest Area Public Library Amer T. B. Scott Free Public Library Special libraries Black River Falls Public Library Jane K. Billings UW-Madison school of library and information studies library memorabilia Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Campaign Portage Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Eratus Swift Wilcox Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Free Library Commission traveling libraries Clinton Public Library J. D. Witter Postcards Library Trustees WAAL Larry T. Nix WLA 125 caly film Library people Academic Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Public libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Black River Falls Centennial Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Irene W. Newman Library e Hall of Fame 2012 Wayne A. Wiegand Brown Deer Public Library Eager Free Public Library Library celebrations Library People caly film library exhibit Elroy Public Library WWI Library War Service Campaign Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 27 Orrilla Blackshear Milwaukee Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Council on Library and Network Development 21 campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Katharine MacDonald Jones membership libraries Suring Area Public Library American Library Association library education Hall of Fame 2015 Carnegie libraries WHCLIS Superior Carnegie Libraries WLA 125 Exhibits Hall of Fame 2016 National Bookmobile Day Campaign Jerome P. Daniels campaign 23 Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Hartford Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Public library systems Ripon Public Library Anniversaries Meter mail slogans Middleton Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Rusk County Community Library buil Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries ca Postcards bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2010 library legislation Events & Meetings 10 Library Artifacts White House Conference on Library and Information Services bookworm Pewaukee Public Library hall of Postcards Wisconsin Historical Society Hall Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Rapids Lutie Stearns School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2014 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Bernard Schwab American Library Association Library War Service anniversaries campa Parcel post Matthew S. Dudgeon campaign Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Library Association Uncategorized Cornelia Marving Pierce S. Janice Kee Publications Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Ruth Ann Montgomery Cooperative Children's Book Center People presentations

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo