Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Cornelia Marvin Pierce (1873-1957)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 23, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Cornelia Marvin PierceCornelia Marvin Pierce (then Cornelia Marvin) served as head of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission Summer School of Library Training during the summers of 1897 and 1898. In 1899 she became a full-time employee of the Wisconsin Library Commission as library instructor and director of the Summer School of Library Training. It was due largely to the success of the summer training sessions that the Commission established a permanent library school that is now the School of Library and Information Studies of the University of Wisconsin – Madison. In 1905 she left Wisconsin to become the first secretary of the Oregon Library Commission which became the Oregon State Library in 1913. She served as Oregon State Librarian until 1928. She married Walter M. Pierce in 1928. She is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography. She was included on the National Advocacy Honor Roll by the American Library Association in 2000 for her contribution as an advocate for library services in the 20th century.  Pierce was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Brisley, Melissa Ann. "Cornelia Marvin Pierce: Pioneer In Library Extension" The Library Quarterly, vol. 38, no. 3, April 1968: 125-153.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, August 24, 2016


Popular Tags

Meter mail slogans Public libraries traveling libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Marketing-Publicity Beloit Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 S. Janice Kee James Duane Doty campaign Madison Public Library Centennial presentations American Library Association Library War Service State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Inform Wisconsin Bookmobiles Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Postcards cam Delia Ovitz Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2008 library education Richard E. Krug Middleton Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Library Buildings Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Woman's Congress Digital Collections 24 buil membership libraries WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Association caly film Library Trustees Marjorie Sornson Malmberg hall of J. D. Witter Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2009 library exhibit 20 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library History Campaign anniversaries Public libraries WLA 125 Library Buidlings 27 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Cornelia Marving Pierce bed and breakfast Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2011 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Carl Spitzweg Milwaukee Art Museum National Library Week Hall of Fame 2012 Appleton Public Library Campaign School libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin James Huff Stout Ice Storm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library National Bookmobile Day Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Rapids campa bookworm Exhibits Nolan I. Neds Brown County Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Capitol Fire 1904 McMillan Memorial Library Charles Bunge Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2014 Public library systems Increase A. Lapham Academic Librarians ca Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries William J. Wilson COLAND Eager Free Public Library Library celebrations Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries archives Suring Area Public Library 11 Clarence Brown Lester Special libraries Soughton Public Library Publications Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Edward Asahel Birge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation UW-Milwaukee Libraries Academic Libraries CCBC Historical Register Elroy Public Library Gerald A. Somers American Library Association Wayne A. Wiegand Library people Hall of Fame 2013 trav Zona Gale Clinton Public Library Hall 28 10 Oshkosh Public Library World War I 23 Anniversaries Events & Meetings Hartford Public Library campaign 22 People campaign library memorabilia Amer Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Black River Falls School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Cam Pewaukee Public Library Postcards Manitowoc Public Library 14 Postcards Klaus Linderfelt WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane caly film Rusk County Community Library Evansville Wisconsin Peter G. Hamon Events UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries background Orrilla Blackshear Portage Public Library Brown Deer Public Library WHCLIS Lutie Eugenia Stearns Gertrude Thurow Campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox caly film Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Library Bulletin T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Superior Carnegie Libraries WAAL Lutie Stearns Postcards John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library Uncategorized Ripon Public Library Anniversaries WWI Library War Service Cooperative Children's Book Center I Love Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 state historical society Black River Falls Public Library 21 Library People Brown Deer Public Library Library Systems Carnegie libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo