Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Clarence Brown Lester (1877-1951)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 22, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Clarence LesterClarence Brown Lester served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission from 1920 to 1949, the longest tenure for any Secretary of the Commission. Prior to becoming Secretary he was chief of the Commission's special training course for reference librarians (1913-1920). The Wisconsin Library Association’s Clarence B. Lester Library of the Year award (now just the Library of the Year Award) was established in his honor in 1955. He served as President of the National Association of State Libraries and also of the League of Library Commissions. Lester was a native of Providence, RI and a graduate of Brown University.  Lester was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, June 25, 2016


Popular Tags

Lutie Stearns WLA 125 Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Public library systems Brown Deer Public Library Bookmobiles Pewaukee Public Library Events Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2010 Library People American Library Association Library History Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Amer People WWI Library War Service 22 campa hall of Hall of Fame 2012 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library library memorabilia Library celebrations Milwaukee Art Museum bookworm Library Buildings Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Buidlings John Miller Chancellor Peter G. Hamon Carl Spitzweg Black River Falls state historical society 23 Campaign campaign Katharine MacDonald Jones Middleton Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Cam I Love Libraries McMillan Memorial Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Elroy Public Library Library people ca Cornelia Marving Pierce Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Marketing-Publicity WLA 125 Rusk County Community Library Special libraries DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2008 library exhibit Campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians School of Library and Information Studies Uncategorized Wisconsin Library Bulletin Superior Carnegie Libraries Ripon Public Library Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Edward Asahel Birge Ice Storm buil 28 Wisconsin State Law Library caly film T. B. Scott Free Public Library Digital Collections Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2009 campaign Nolan I. Neds 24 Woman's Congress Library Artifacts Academic Librarians Wisconsin Rapids Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2014 Postcards Milwaukee Public Library National Library Week Richard E. Krug caly film Wilbur Lyle Eberhart archives Publications Hall of Fame 2011 Gerald A. Somers Milwaukee Public Library Bernard Schwab Klaus Linderfelt Library Trustees bed and breakfast Dorothea M. Krause traveling libraries Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries Carnegie libraries 21 Hall of Fame 2015 trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Libraries Soughton Public Library Increase A. Lapham Ruth Ann Montgomery 10 Clinton Public Library 11 Eratus Swift Wilcox Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Sarah Janice Kee Beaver Dam Public Library Postcards Frank Avery Hutchins Portage Public Library library legislation Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls Public Library Anniversaries Library people Postcards background Wisconsin Free Library Commission Suring Area Public Library Charles Bunge Public libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Capitol Fire 1904 National Bookmobile Day Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries J. D. Witter Meter mail slogans membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane 14 School libraries Anniversaries anniversaries S. Janice Kee Beloit Public Library Historical Register campaign Postcards State Law Library Hall fo Fame 2012 CCBC Hall of Fame 2013 Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 27 Delia Ovitz James Huff Stout Eager Free Public Library cam caly film James Duane Doty Brown County Library American Library Association Library War Service Library Systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries William J. Wilson 20 Gertrude Thurow Madison Public Library Zona Gale Wayne A. Wiegand Exhibits WAAL Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hartford Public Library Campaign WLA 125 presentations Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo