Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Bernard SchwabBernard (Bernie) Schwab was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Schwab served as Director of the Madison Public Library from 1957 to 1981. Under his leadership the library built a new central library and five branch libraries were added. He established the Dane County Historical Records Center, the Municipal Reference Service, and the Madison Area Library Council. He helped to create the first Friends of the Library group in Wisconsin. The Madison Public Library was named Library of the Year in 1966. He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1966-67 and was named Librarian of the Year in 1970. Schwab was chair of the Wisconsin Council for Library Development in 1973-74. Schwab was WLA’s representative to the American Library Association (ALA) and served on ALA’s joint committee on library service to labor. Schwab was born in Brooklyn, NY. He received a Bachelor’s degree from the College of the City of New York in 1943 and a Library Science degree from the Pratt Institute. Prior to coming to Madison he held several positions at the District of Columbia Public Library in Washington, DC. Before becoming Director he served as Assistant Director of the Madison Public Library from 1954 to 1957. After his death in 1990, the City Council changed the name of the central library to the Bernard Schwab Library.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, December 08, 2019


Popular Tags

Library History Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter Lutie Stearns Ruth Ann Montgomery Digital Collections Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee School libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign 28 Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Public library systems traveling libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Inform Wisconsin Academic Libraries Postcards Milwaukee Public Library campaign Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends American Library Association Library War Service Matthew S. Dudgeon Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2008 Special libraries Gilbert H. Doane bed and breakfast I Love Libraries hall of Bernard Schwab Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2019 Bookmobiles Dorothea M. Krause Parcel post Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 presentations Larry T. Nix Hall of Fame 2018 Peter G. Hamon Beloit Public Library Brown Deer Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Delia Ovitz Dianne McAfee Hopkins Cooperative Children's Book Center Tower Hill Wisconsin WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2017 campaign Historical Register Frank Avery Hutchins Library Trustees People Cam Lutie Eugenia Stearns Ripon Public Library Hall Hall of Fame 2011 Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2012 Soughton Public Library Nancy Marshall Pinback buttons UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies library memorabilia library exhibit Nolan I. Neds Gertrude Thurow Middleton Public Library 24 23 Hall of Fame 2009 27 S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library Systems Black River Falls Public Library Robert Bocher Publications Rusk County Community Library Irene W. Newman School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library 20 anniversaries Public libraries membership libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Oshkosh Public Library Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 National Bookmobile Day Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services John Miller Chancellor Madison Public Library American Library Association World War I caly film Brown Deer Public Library Richard E. Krug Jerome P. Daniels Zona Gale books-by-mail Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Klaus Linderfelt Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Dick Sorensen James Huff Stout Eager Free Public Library Ruby Roeder UW-Madison school of library and information studies buil Clarence Brown Lester cam Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2015 COLAND Marketing-Publicity Helen Adams 11 Clinton Public Library WAAL WHCLIS archives ca Postcards CCBC Amer Louise S. Robbins Cornelia Marving Pierce Richard J. Sorensen WLA 125 Uncategorized Jane K. Billings Library Buidlings Charles Bunge Library e Meter mail slogans Exhibits Wayne A. Wiegand Capitol Fire 1904 National Library Week Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries trav 14 21 Hall of Fame 2013 Dick Sorensen Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 Public libraries library legislation Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library Artifacts McMillan Memorial Library Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2010 22 Increase A. Lapham Katharine MacDonald Jones Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library background Hall fo Fame 2012 library education Campaign Hall of Fame 2014 campaign caly film Wisconsin Library Association WLA 125 WLA 125 Milwaukee Art Museum Library People William J. Wilson Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2018 Appleton Public Library Anniversaries Library people Evansville Wisconsin Wilbur Lyle Eberhart campa Buttons Bob Bochfer caly film Events Black River Falls Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin State Law Library John J. Jax Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries DeForest Area Public Library James Duane Doty Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library celebrations Carnegie libraries State Law Library Centennial Eratus Swift Wilcox Woman's Congress Lowell W. Wilson Manitowoc Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Postcards Elroy Public Library Academic Librarians Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Postcards 10 bookworm state historical society Orrilla Blackshear Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Sarah Janice Kee

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo