Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Hall of Fame

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation. Induction into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is granted to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the statewide improvement of library service in Wisconsin.  Inductees into the Hall of Fame are selected by the Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center.  The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame includes both librarians and library supporters.  Nominations of individuals to be included in the Hall of Fame come from the Steering Committee and the library community at large. The first ten individuals were inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008.  The inductions take place at the Annual Conference of the Wisconsin Library Association.

Click on name to see biography

2014 Inductees

Gilbert Harry Doane (1897-1980)

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart (1922-2010)

Peter G. Hamon (1945- )

Nolan I. Neds (1921-2006)

Gertrude Thurow (1906-1993)

2013 Inductees

Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003)

Katharine MacDonald Jones (1866-?)

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990)

Miriam Downing Tompkins (1892-1954)

2012 Inductees

John Miller Chancellor (1896-1980)

Zona Gale (1874-1938)

Richard E. Krug (1905-1983)

Clarence Brown Lester (1877-1951)

Cornelia Marvin Pierce (1873-1957)

Rachel Katherine Schenk (1899-1973)

Gerald A. Somers (1921-2003)

2011 inductees

Norman D. Bassett (1891-1980)

Orrilla Thompson Blackshear (1904-1994)

Daniel Steele Durrie (1819-1892)

Gilson G. Glasier (1873-1972)

Ginny Moore Kruse (1934- )

Walter Mcmynn Smith (1869 – 1938)

Ella T. Veslak (1897-1996)

2010 inductees

Wayne Bassett (1915-1988)

H. Vail Deale (1915-2004)

Leah Gruber (1907-1996)

Julia Wright Merrill (1881-1961)

Calvin Potter (1945- )

2009 Inductees

Charles A. Bunge (1936- )

Matthew Simpson Dudgeon (1871-1949)

Sarah Janice Kee (1908 -1998)

Henry Eduard Legler (1861-1917)

Klas August Linderfelt (1847-1900)

Charles R. McCarthy (1873-1921)

Margaret Ellen Monroe (1914-2004)

2008 Inductees   

Edward Asahel Birge 1851-1950  

Elizabeth Burr, 1908-1996  

Lyman Copeland Draper (1815-1891)

Theresa West Elmendorf (1855-1932)  

Muriel Laura Fuller (1912-1978)  

Mary Emogene Hazeltine (1868-1949)  

Frank Avery Hutchins (1851-1914)  

Lutie Eugenia Stearns (1866-1943)  

James Huff Stout (1848-1910)  

Reuben Gold Thwaites (1853-1913)


Popular Tags

Campaign Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Hall fo Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Publications presentations Middleton Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2012 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends J. D. Witter Wisconsin Free Library Commission bed and breakfast Academic Libraries cam Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Library Heritage Center WWI Library War Service bookworm Library celebrations Public libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries hall of Brown County Library Library people Wisconsin Historical Society Frank Avery Hutchins School libraries Wisconsin Library Association Milwaukee Public Library campa Hartford Public Library Delia Ovitz campaign Hall of Fame 2013 Digital Collections McMillan Memorial Library Carnegie libraries Library History Cooperative Children's Book Center Anniversaries Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2012 Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Ice Storm traveling libraries Evansville Wisconsin Library Artifacts Campaign National Bookmobile Day Historical Register background Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign Eager Free Public Library library exhibit Milwaukee Art Museum Tower Hill Wisconsin Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Oshkosh Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Library People Hall Clarence Brown Lester anniversaries Hall of Fame 2014 Events & Meetings Library people Postcards CCBC Wisconsin Rapids Beloit Public Library Gerald A. Somers Milwaukee Public Library Woman's Congress S. Janice Kee Sarah Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Madison Public Library Uncategorized Anniversaries Suring Area Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Postcards Bookmobiles Katharine MacDonald Jones Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2011 Marketing-Publicity library memorabilia Rusk County Community Library American Library Association Library War Service Edward Asahel Birge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Nolan I. Neds DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buildings Library Buidlings campaign Postcards archives Elroy Public Library Richard E. Krug Library Systems ca Hall of Fame 2009 Carl Spitzweg People Events Special libraries Gertrude Thurow Postcards National Library Week Beaver Dam Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Library Trustees Ruth Ann Montgomery John Miller Chancellor buil

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Logo