Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Zona Gale (1874-1938)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, October 21, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Zona GaleZona Gale, a Portage (WI) native and Pulitzer Prize winning author, was a lifelong friend and champion of Wisconsin's libraries. She used her celebrity to promote libraries wherever possible. She was a member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (1921-1932) and served as its Chair in 1921-1924 and 1926-1929. She also served as a member of the University of Wisconsin Board of Regents. She won the Pulitzer Prize for drama in 1921 for her play "Miss LuLu Bett". Her home was donated to the City of Portage in 1946 to house the Portage Public Library. She is a member of the Wisconsin Writers Hall of Fame. She received both a Bachelor's degree and a Master's degree from the University of Wisconsin - Madison. Gale was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Photo: Wisconsin Historical Society Digital Collection.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, August 17, 2019


Popular Tags

Milwaukee Public Library presentations WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Academic Librarians caly film Public libraries Parcel post Cornelia Marving Pierce Ruby Roeder Peter G. Hamon I Love Libraries Charles Bunge Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 books-by-mail cam Hall of Fame 2008 Appleton Public Library Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2018 Library Buidlings Hall fo Fame 2012 WHCLIS state historical society Robert Bocher 11 Wisconsin Rapids Campaign Cam Helen Adams Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library History 21 24 Eratus Swift Wilcox Brown County Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Oshkosh Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Beloit Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies WLA 125 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Frank Avery Hutchins American Library Association Library War Service Suring Area Public Library 23 William J. Wilson Bernard Schwab Marketing-Publicity Louise S. Robbins Superior Carnegie Libraries library education Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Pewaukee Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2012 National Bookmobile Day Hall Public libraries Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2017 hall of Meter mail slogans campa Hall of Fame 2013 Library People Increase A. Lapham T. B. Scott Free Public Library Portage Public Library DeForest Area Public Library background caly film buil Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Rusk County Community Library National Library Week UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society bed and breakfast Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Events Bookmobiles Digital Collections Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Free Library Commission CCBC UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2012 Edward Asahel Birge Anniversaries Manitowoc Public Library anniversaries Events & Meetings Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries library exhibit American Library Association WLA 125 Exhibits Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane Buttons Ice Storm Events & Meetings Campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library campaign bookworm 14 Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2015 22 People Pinback buttons WAAL Academic Libraries Sarah Janice Kee Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2014 Milwaukee Public Library Postcards 20 membership libraries John J. Jax School libraries Klaus Linderfelt Wayne A. Wiegand Clinton Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services James Huff Stout Bob Bochfer Sandra Friedman Dolnick School of Library and Information Studies Lucy E. Smith Morris McMillan Memorial Library trav Katharine MacDonald Jones Clarence Brown Lester 10 Hall of Fame 2010 Jane K. Billings Ripon Public Library Centennial WLA 125 Campaign Amer Black River Falls Public Library archives Larry T. Nix Jerome P. Daniels Soughton Public Library Anniversaries Lutie Eugenia Stearns S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin Library Bulletin campaign Publications traveling libraries 28 Ruth Ann Montgomery Elroy Public Library Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2018 John Miller Chancellor Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Special libraries Eager Free Public Library Library people Lutie Stearns Council on Library and Network Development Dianne McAfee Hopkins Postcards Evansville Wisconsin COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Madison Public Library Carnegie libraries Gerald A. Somers Postcards caly film Library Buildings Capitol Fire 1904 Library celebrations campaign Irene W. Newman ca 27 Historical Register Uncategorized library memorabilia J. D. Witter Wisconsin Free Library Commission Tower Hill Wisconsin Library e Public library systems Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends World War I Brown Deer Public Library Richard E. Krug Middleton Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin State Law Library Nolan I. Neds Dorothea M. Krause Library Systems Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library Artifacts WLA 125 Woman's Congress State Law Library Hall of Fame 2011 Zona Gale library legislation

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo