Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA's 125th Capitol Ceremony

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 in WLA 125
A public kick-off of the celebration of the 125th anniversary of the Wisconsin Library Association took place on February 9th at the State Capitol. The celebration event took place in conjunction with Wisconsin Library Legislative Day. The ceremony at the Capitol included presentations by Plumer Lovelace, WLA Executive Director; Pamela Westby, WLA President; Tony Evers, State Superintendent of Public Insturction; and Lt. Governor Rebecca Kleefisch. Lt. Governor Kleefisch read a proclamation from Governor Scott Walker designating February 11, 2016 as Wisconsin Library Association Day.
Photo credit: Paul Nelson 
Tags: WLA 125


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, October 22, 2019


Popular Tags

Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Meter mail slogans WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2008 Ripon Public Library Gertrude Thurow library legislation Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Postcards anniversaries Buttons Delia Ovitz Campaign Wisconsin Library Bulletin Milwaukee Public Library Library e UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Ruth Ann Montgomery Brown Deer Public Library Eager Free Public Library Suring Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library State Law Library Bookmobiles Library Buildings Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Library History caly film James Huff Stout Frank Avery Hutchins Postcards I Love Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Larry T. Nix William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Digital Collections John Miller Chancellor membership libraries Anniversaries Lowell W. Wilson Charles Bunge Beaver Dam Public Library campaign 20 WWI Library War Service Bernard Schwab J. D. Witter Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 library exhibit Ice Storm Gilbert H. Doane Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide caly film presentations Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2015 Uncategorized Carl Spitzweg Amer Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Robert Bocher Special libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library Artifacts Jane K. Billings Gerald A. Somers Elroy Public Library Events & Meetings bed and breakfast Events & Meetings trav Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2018 Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2018 School libraries WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Black River Falls Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2016 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Dorothea M. Krause National Library Week Library Buidlings Carnegie libraries Louise S. Robbins background Superior Carnegie Libraries Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Pinback buttons Cooperative Children's Book Center buil ca COLAND Academic Libraries state historical society Parcel post People Hall of Fame 2013 Madison Public Library Events Wayne A. Wiegand Cornelia Marving Pierce 28 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Soughton Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2011 22 Public libraries WAAL Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 14 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pewaukee Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Library Trustees Increase A. Lapham Middleton Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Centennial S. Janice Kee Public library systems Peter G. Hamon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 23 James Duane Doty Cam Hall of Fame 2014 27 Hall of Fame 2012 campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Library celebrations Clinton Public Library cam Clarence Brown Lester Black River Falls Public Library 10 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Library Association books-by-mail Publications hall of Historical Register Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Milwaukee Art Museum Appleton Public Library 24 Council on Library and Network Development Public libraries Hall of Fame 2017 School of Library and Information Studies Bob Bochfer bookworm campa Anniversaries Portage Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Eratus Swift Wilcox Exhibits American Library Association Hall of Fame 2009 Edward Asahel Birge library education Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall Campaign caly film Klaus Linderfelt World War I Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs WLA 125 American Library Association Library War Service Matthew S. Dudgeon McMillan Memorial Library Campaign WLA 125 CCBC John J. Jax Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2010 Hall fo Fame 2012 Academic Librarians Library people Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Nolan I. Neds National Bookmobile Day Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2012 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Inform Wisconsin Woman's Congress Hartford Public Library Ruby Roeder Marketing-Publicity Tower Hill Wisconsin Postcards 21 archives UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library People Manitowoc Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library Systems library memorabilia 11 traveling libraries Richard E. Krug

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo