Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

wla is one twenty in twenty one one

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, January 06, 2011 in Events


The year 2011 is an important anniversary year in the history of libraries in Wisconsin.  This year marks the 120th anniversary of the founding of the Wisconsin Library Association. On February 11, 1891, a group of individuals gathered in the office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (located in Wisconsin's second Capitol, shown above) for the purpose of establishing a state library association.  At that meeting, a constitution (based on that of the New York Library Association) was adopted and officers were elected.  They included K. A. Linderfelt, president; R. G. Thwaites, vice-president; and F. A. Hutchins, secretary-treasurer. The first conference of the newly established association took place in Madison on March 11, 1891.  Although much of the focus of the early years of the Wisconsin Library Association was on the development of public libraries, twelve decades of library leadership and support by the association has had a positive impact on all types of Wisconsin libraries. As Wisconsin libraries face a tough year due to the economy, it is also a time to acknowledge the tremendous library growth and development that has occurred in the last 120 years. Through good times and hard times Wisconsin libraries have persevered in meeting the information and knowledge needs of the state's residents.  That's something to celebrate.

Comment disabled by author.


Popular Tags

WHCLIS 10 Matthew S. Dudgeon J. D. Witter 28 Meter mail slogans Public library systems campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Events S. Janice Kee Zona Gale hall of Wisconsin Library Association Ripon Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Anniversaries Postcards 11 traveling libraries Ruby Roeder 14 Hall of Fame 2012 Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Hall fo Fame 2012 WWI Library War Service Library people 20 Postcards bookworm Hall of Fame 2009 caly film Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Black River Falls Public Library caly film Lutie Stearns Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2012 Digital Collections UW-Madison school of library and information studies Public libraries Increase A. Lapham books-by-mail Historical Register Hall of Fame 2008 National Bookmobile Day campaign Hall of Fame 2018 library memorabilia Soughton Public Library Appleton Public Library Edward Asahel Birge 27 Hall of Fame 2015 Bernard Schwab Jerome P. Daniels Carl Spitzweg Library People library education Hall of Fame 2015 Library Systems Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2011 23 Postcards Library e WAAL ca Carnegie libraries campaign Public libraries Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2013 Rusk County Community Library 24 Library Artifacts Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2014 bed and breakfast Evansville Wisconsin Cam library exhibit COLAND Louise S. Robbins McMillan Memorial Library Superior Carnegie Libraries WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Nolan I. Neds Lowell W. Wilson 22 Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Gilbert H. Doane Events & Meetings Library people Postcards Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Helen Adams School libraries Anniversaries Delia Ovitz membership libraries library legislation 21 Gerald A. Somers Dianne McAfee Hopkins Pewaukee Public Library Publications cam presentations James Huff Stout Amer John Miller Chancellor William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2010 background Bob Bochfer WLA 125 Middleton Public Library Parcel post Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2016 anniversaries Academic Librarians Frank Avery Hutchins Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Centennial Campaign Campaign Suring Area Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Peter G. Hamon Oshkosh Public Library John J. Jax Brown Deer Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Madison Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Sarah Janice Kee state historical society Exhibits Orrilla Blackshear Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Uncategorized People Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign Wisconsin Rapids WLA 125 Larry T. Nix Milwaukee Public Library Buttons Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Woman's Congress Wisconsin Library Bulletin Lucy E. Smith Morris Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Library History Academic Libraries Charles Bunge Jane K. Billings State Law Library CCBC Clarence Brown Lester Dorothea M. Krause Eratus Swift Wilcox caly film American Library Association Library War Service Elroy Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2017 campa Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Lutie Eugenia Stearns WLA 125 World War I Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Trustees trav Hall School of Library and Information Studies Special libraries Irene W. Newman Ruth Ann Montgomery T. B. Scott Free Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Marketing-Publicity Library celebrations National Library Week Portage Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Robert Bocher Library Buidlings Bookmobiles buil Hartford Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart archives James Duane Doty Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 Events & Meetings Richard E. Krug Eager Free Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies I Love Libraries American Library Association

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo