Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA 1905 Conference

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, August 12, 2009 in Library buildings

The postcard above was mailed to the Public Library in Galena, Illinois on February 14, 1905. The picture side of the postcard shows the Beloit Public Library and has the written message: "You are cordially invited to attend the meetings of the Wis State Lib. Asst. on Feb. 22-23 -". It is signed  M. W. Bell.  The postcard is part of a postcard collection that was collected by Anna Felt, a trustee and benefactor of the Galena Public Library.  "M. W. Bell" was Martha W. Bell, the Library Director of the Beloit Public Library. The Wisconsin Library Association meeting was the 15th annual meeting of the association which was established in 1891, and it took place in Beloit on February 22 and 23, 1905. The announcement of the meeting was made in the first issue of the Wisconsin Library Bulletin which was published in January, 1905. A report of the meeting was included in the second issue of the bulletin. Attending the conference were 29 representatives of free public libraries which included both trustees and librarians, four representatives of school and college libraries, one representative of a subscription library, and one representative of a traveling library. H. P. Bird, President of the Association, made the following opening statement: "The one purpose in view friends is to enlarge the understanding, widen the intellectual view, and so increase the happiness, the usefulness and the capacity of our citizens, one and all."  H. P. Bird was a State Senator and had incorporated a library in the recreational center which he had built in Wausaukee for lumberjacks. All the sessions of the conference were held in the new Beloit Public Library which had received a grant from Andrew Carnegie. Conference attendees were also able to visit two other Carnegie financed libraries in Rock County - the Beloit College Library and the Janesville Public Library.


Joan Goertz Sunday, November 15, 2009

I have a postcard of the Beloit College Library, Beloit, Wis. dated November 9, 1905, sent to a Mrs. J.S. Campbell in New Have Conn. Writing fairly good but some parts are hard to read.

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Popular Tags

trav Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Brown Deer Public Library Lutie Stearns Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2010 S. Janice Kee DeForest Area Public Library Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 library memorabilia campaign Cornelia Marving Pierce Soughton Public Library Campaign Public libraries Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125 American Library Association Library War Service Ice Storm Library History Anniversaries Milwaukee Art Museum caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Katharine MacDonald Jones 11 Carnegie libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Beloit Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries COLAND Delia Ovitz Exhibits Brown County Library Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Library Buildings Pinback buttons Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2016 Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2013 Appleton Public Library Library people Hall of Fame 2012 Increase A. Lapham School libraries Peter G. Hamon Academic Libraries hall of Matthew S. Dudgeon McMillan Memorial Library Postcards Ruth Ann Montgomery campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2015 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library People Gerald A. Somers Special libraries Eager Free Public Library 24 Inform Wisconsin Suring Area Public Library WWI Library War Service Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Parcel post 20 Bernard Schwab Library Artifacts Meter mail slogans WAAL Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide WLA 125 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Black River Falls Public Library CCBC Campaign Hall of Fame 2008 UW-Milwaukee Libraries campaign WHCLIS Irene W. Newman Hartford Public Library Library People Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 27 Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2009 Ripon Public Library 23 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin library legislation 21 Library e Carl Spitzweg Bob Bochfer Public libraries Marketing-Publicity Ruby Roeder Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services presentations Clinton Public Library books-by-mail Hall Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee John J. Jax J. D. Witter Wisconsin Library Association 22 Woman's Congress Academic Librarians Charles Bunge Lutie Eugenia Stearns ca Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2011 Digital Collections Portage Public Library bed and breakfast UW-Madison school of library and information studies National Bookmobile Day Elroy Public Library World War I William J. Wilson James Duane Doty Cam Bookmobiles Klaus Linderfelt Library Buidlings traveling libraries Library Systems Postcards Frank Avery Hutchins Amer Library people Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission buil Gilbert H. Doane campa Sarah Janice Kee Black River Falls Larry T. Nix Postcards Lowell W. Wilson anniversaries American Library Association caly film Wisconsin Historical Society Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Madison Public Library Events & Meetings Anniversaries Helen Adams Gertrude Thurow Superior Carnegie Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Lucy E. Smith Morris Buttons Manitowoc Public Library bookworm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Brown Deer Public Library Nolan I. Neds Cooperative Children's Book Center Publications 28 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Louise S. Robbins membership libraries 14 Orrilla Blackshear Events Jane K. Billings background 10 School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Rapids Council on Library and Network Development cam WLA 125 Centennial Milwaukee Public Library Library Trustees James Huff Stout Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2012 John Miller Chancellor Public library systems caly film Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin Library Bulletin Campaign Robert Bocher State Law Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Beaver Dam Public Library Dorothea M. Krause state historical society Hall of Fame 2018 Oshkosh Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Middleton Public Library I Love Libraries Historical Register Zona Gale archives Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends library education library exhibit

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo