Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA 119 Today

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, February 11, 2010 in Postcards

pc-wi-madison-capitol-72.jpgOn February 11, 1891 (119 years ago today) a group of librarians and educational leaders gathered in the office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction for the purpose of organizing the Wisconsin Library Association. At that time the State Superintendent's office was located in the State Capitol.  Among those in attendance were K. A. Linderfelt, Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library; R. G. Thwaites, Secretary of the State Historical Society; Frank A. Hutchins, Township Library Clerk of the Department of Public Instruction; E. A. Birge, Professor of Zoology at the University of Wisconsin; Minnie M. Oakley at the State Historical Society and formerly Librarian of the Madison Public Library; and Issac S. Bradley, Assistant Librarian of the State Historical Society. Theresa West Elmendorf, Assistant Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library, played an important role in bringing the meeting about but was not present at the meeting. At the meeting Linderfelt was chosen as President, Thwaites as Vice-president, and Hutchins as Secretary-treasurer.  The first conference of the Association was held in Madison on March 11, 1891. The State Capitol building shown above was where WLA was born. That building was destroyed in a fire in 1904.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, May 29, 2017


Popular Tags

Library Systems 27 Library Trustees 14 Black River Falls Public Library library exhibit William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Klaus Linderfelt Zona Gale Cam Elroy Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Brown County Library Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2008 library education 21 campaign Tower Hill Wisconsin Increase A. Lapham WHCLIS Carl Spitzweg Ripon Public Library Campaign Sarah Janice Kee WLA 125 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Lutie Stearns Postcards archives Library celebrations Marketing-Publicity Edward Asahel Birge Oshkosh Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Postcards Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends McMillan Memorial Library WLA 125 WLA 125 ca 24 campa caly film Katharine MacDonald Jones Middleton Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Free Library Commission campaign Wisconsin State Law Library Milwaukee Art Museum Pewaukee Public Library 28 Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Ice Storm Clinton Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide American Library Association Library War Service Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Postcards Suring Area Public Library books-by-mail library legislation Manitowoc Public Library James Duane Doty Brown Deer Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Bernard Schwab Jane K. Billings buil Public libraries Campaign CCBC Clarence Brown Lester Delia Ovitz Library History Marjorie Sornson Malmberg trav Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library people Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Larry T. Nix People anniversaries Capitol Fire 1904 Hall Gerald A. Somers caly film Dianne McAfee Hopkins Public library systems Council on Library and Network Development Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries World War I Cornelia Marving Pierce state historical society Appleton Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Evansville Wisconsin Carnegie libraries membership libraries Library e Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hartford Public Library 23 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Amer James Huff Stout UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2009 WWI Library War Service 11 Wisconsin Rapids Cooperative Children's Book Center Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 Library Buidlings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Buttons White House Conference on Library and Information Services Black River Falls John Miller Chancellor Events & Meetings WAAL Campaign library memorabilia Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Bookmobiles WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane Beloit Public Library School of Library and Information Studies hall of Centennial Uncategorized Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wilbur Lyle Eberhart cam Brown Deer Public Library Irene W. Newman Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Beaver Dam Public Library Peter G. Hamon 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events DeForest Area Public Library National Bookmobile Day Academic Libraries Historical Register background Hall of Fame 2014 22 School libraries caly film COLAND Digital Collections bed and breakfast Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Library Association Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Special libraries Hall of Fame 2013 Public libraries Wayne A. Wiegand campaign T. B. Scott Free Public Library Gertrude Thurow Ruth Ann Montgomery Nolan I. Neds Events & Meetings Library people Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Meter mail slogans Publications J. D. Witter National Library Week Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2015 Parcel post State Law Library Eratus Swift Wilcox presentations Hall of Fame 2016 S. Janice Kee Charles Bunge Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Richard E. Krug 20 I Love Libraries Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Historical Society American Library Association Soughton Public Library traveling libraries Library People Eager Free Public Library Orrilla Blackshear

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo