Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA Members Meet in Chicago in 1893

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, May 16, 2016 in WLA 125
Due to the unfortunate resignation of Klas A. Linderfelt as president of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) in 1892 it did not meet formally in 1892 or 1893. However, twelve members of WLA attended the meeting of the American Library Association (ALA) in Chicago in 1893, and they gathered for an informal meeting which is considered to be the second conference of WLA.  As a result of that meeting Reuben G. Thwaites assumed the presidency of WLA. The 1893 ALA Chicago meeting was in conjunction with the World’s Columbian Exposition or World’s Fair. Members of the WLA delegation undoubtedly visited ALA’s library exhibit in the Government Building of the exposition (see postcard above).  They also probably visited the Woman’s Building Library which housed a collection of books written by women from around the world. WLA held its next conference in 1894 in Beaver Dam. Except for 1903 WLA has held a conference every  since 1894. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, October 22, 2018


Popular Tags

Public libraries Lowell W. Wilson Tower Hill Wisconsin National Bookmobile Day library exhibit Hall fo Fame 2012 James Huff Stout Orrilla Blackshear Carl Spitzweg Increase A. Lapham Nolan I. Neds Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Publications Centennial UW-Milwaukee Libraries James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library Exhibits Hall of Fame 2015 Hartford Public Library Events Middleton Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Cornelia Marving Pierce Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2016 Marketing-Publicity Brown Deer Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide library memorabilia campaign Helen Adams Louise S. Robbins Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library library education Postcards campa Madison Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Public library systems Hall of Fame 2010 Public libraries Bob Bochfer 28 Pewaukee Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Sarah Janice Kee membership libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Academic Libraries Brown Deer Public Library William J. Wilson Elroy Public Library John J. Jax library legislation Campaign Library Buidlings Dorothea M. Krause 14 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries School of Library and Information Studies Manitowoc Public Library 27 Library Artifacts Oshkosh Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries WAAL WLA 125 American Library Association Library War Service Academic Librarians bookworm Gilbert H. Doane Events & Meetings Jane K. Billings Clinton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Robert Bocher Milwaukee Art Museum Library People Sandra Friedman Dolnick Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2018 Ripon Public Library WHCLIS Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends John Miller Chancellor Pinback buttons People Hall of Fame 2012 WWI Library War Service Superior Carnegie Libraries Carnegie libraries National Library Week Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter background Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 11 Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2009 McMillan Memorial Library CCBC Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 23 Appleton Public Library Klaus Linderfelt UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies archives Edward Asahel Birge S. Janice Kee Meter mail slogans Library Buildings 24 Delia Ovitz traveling libraries Campaign Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Council on Library and Network Development Black River Falls World War I Peter G. Hamon Eager Free Public Library Library Systems Cooperative Children's Book Center hall of Frank Avery Hutchins anniversaries Ice Storm caly film Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Woman's Congress Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians bed and breakfast School libraries Hall of Fame 2014 caly film books-by-mail Lucy E. Smith Morris caly film DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Suring Area Public Library Parcel post Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin State Law Library campaign Buttons Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs 20 WLA 125 Historical Register Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Portage Public Library Library Trustees Library people Postcards State Law Library 21 Evansville Wisconsin Campaign Special libraries Inform Wisconsin Rusk County Community Library Library celebrations Gertrude Thurow Hall 22 ca Library History Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Ruby Roeder cam campaign Jerome P. Daniels presentations buil Library people Irene W. Newman Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2008 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Library e Brown County Library Anniversaries trav White House Conference on Library and Information Services Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2013 Charles Bunge Cam 10 Uncategorized state historical society Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2018 Richard E. Krug Postcards Wisconsin Historical Society Events & Meetings Larry T. Nix Lutie Stearns COLAND Amer Digital Collections American Library Association Bookmobiles Beaver Dam Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo