Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin's State Librarian

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, December 02, 2009 in Special libraries





















As I have written in a previous post, the Wisconsin State Law Library was Wisconsin's first library. Up until 1977 the library was named the Wisconsin State Library and the head of the library had the title of State Librarian. In reality, the library had been a state law library since 1866 when the focus of collection was narrowed by law to "law books of reference and works on political science and statistics".  In 1875 all books of a general nature were transferred to the State Historical Society's Library. This was not difficult since both libraries were located in the State Capitol. When the library's name changed in 1977, the head librarian became the State Law Librarian. The postal card above is addressed to John Berryman who served as State Librarian from 1876 to 1906. The card was mailed from Toronto in 1886 to acknowledge payment for books. A compete timeline of the history of the Wisconsin State Law Library including a list of the former State Librarians can be found here. Of course, Wisconsin's current "chief officer of the state library agency" also sometimes referred to as the state librarian is the Assistant State Superintendent for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning in the Department of Public Instruction. Currently that person is Richard Grobschmidt.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, February 26, 2020


Popular Tags

Black River Falls Public Library Campaign WHCLIS membership libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Library e Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide J. D. Witter Library people Postcards Library Trustees Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries bed and breakfast Cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2008 Helen Adams Brown Deer Public Library Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Soughton Public Library Nancy Marshall Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services state historical society Cooperative Children's Book Center Lutie Stearns UW-Milwaukee Libraries presentations Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 John J. Jax Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 28 caly film Zona Gale T. B. Scott Free Public Library Oshkosh Public Library State Law Library Hall Council on Library and Network Development hall of Special libraries Gerald A. Somers Inform Wisconsin WLA 125 Public library systems Middleton Public Library Clarence Brown Lester buil Library Systems Manitowoc Public Library library legislation 24 Dorothea M. Krause Katharine MacDonald Jones Centennial Elroy Public Library WLA 125 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 27 Bernard Schwab Sarah Janice Kee Library Buildings Black River Falls Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 library exhibit Public libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Tower Hill Wisconsin 21 COLAND James Duane Doty Milwaukee Public Library People campaign DeForest Area Public Library Hartford Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Library celebrations Meter mail slogans Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Historical Society campa National Library Week Rusk County Community Library John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2012 Ruby Roeder Library Buidlings Lucy E. Smith Morris Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm 23 School libraries Eager Free Public Library campaign Wisconsin Library Bulletin Amer I Love Libraries 11 bookworm Ruth Ann Montgomery Carl Spitzweg Lutie Eugenia Stearns Digital Collections Madison Public Library Brown Deer Public Library S. Janice Kee Evansville Wisconsin Dianne McAfee Hopkins Appleton Public Library Dick Sorensen Orrilla Blackshear Postcards Woman's Congress campaign Hall of Fame 2018 Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2019 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Dick Sorensen Irene W. Newman Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Marketing-Publicity WWI Library War Service Academic Libraries Peter G. Hamon Academic Librarians Brown County Library library memorabilia 22 14 Eratus Swift Wilcox Milwaukee Art Museum Postcards James Huff Stout Suring Area Public Library Richard E. Krug Postcards caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Artifacts Library History Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2015 Gertrude Thurow Events & Meetings William J. Wilson Wilbur Lyle Eberhart WLA 125 Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2013 cam trav Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign Wisconsin Rapids Parcel post Library People Publications Beloit Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Historical Register Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2009 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2012 books-by-mail Edward Asahel Birge Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce McMillan Memorial Library Events White House Conference on Library and Information Services Pinback buttons Milwaukee Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins library education Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2016 Campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Bookmobiles Delia Ovitz Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends traveling libraries CCBC Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2010 background Matthew S. Dudgeon WAAL Charles Bunge World War I National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2017 10 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Library Association Pewaukee Public Library ca 20 Hall fo Fame 2012 Carnegie libraries American Library Association Library War Service Richard J. Sorensen caly film Jane K. Billings anniversaries archives Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Clinton Public Library WLA 125 Capitol Fire 1904 American Library Association Hall of Fame 2014 Jerome P. Daniels Bob Bochfer Portage Public Library Public libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo